RSS Feed

Beauty Review – June Birchbox

I for one am so happy it’s Friday! It has been a tiring week and I find myself sat on the sofa with a beer watching the Glastonbury highlights as the rain pours outside…the weather is definitely helping my festival jealousy as I’ve done Glasto in torrential rain before!

I received my June Birchbox earlier in the month and was looking forward to its arrival as I was given the option of its design and opted for a chic Parisian nautical style. I really like it when I am contacted by Birchbox prior to delivery to state my preference on a product or design.

IMG_1846

This month’s theme is ‘Step Outdoors’ with a nod to spending more time outside in the sunshine whether that is in the park, at a festival or a BBQ. Birchbox have collaborated with French Sole who do such lovely ballet pumps and subscribers had the opportunity to buy some of these limited edition shoes through the Birchbox website.

Anyway, here is my first look inside the box:

IMG_1847

First of all a French Sole ‘shoe bag’. I can’t say a shoe bag is high on my list of priorities but this is a lovely wipe-clean design that I think makes it a perfect wash bag for a night away.

IMG_1848

A perfume next by high-end fragrance house Penhaligon’s. I received the scent Iris Prima which is inspired by the English National Ballet. This is a grower on me – I wasn’t keen at first but after a few minutes, the strong muskiness fades to a soft, sweet vanilla. A good one for the handbag but I don’t think I would buy a full-sized bottle for £85.

IMG_1849

Who doesn’t like trying out a new mascara?! This one is from ModelCo and looks to be a good black mascara with a chunky brush.

IMG_1850

I hadn’t heard of this next brand, HIP, an all-natural French hair care brand. This shampoo sounds similar to the Sunday Shampoo I love from Bumble and Bumble with the aim to refresh your hair and scalp.

IMG_1851

A decent-sized product next from one of my favourite beauty brands, Balance Me. I received their Super Moisturising Body Wash which smells amazing. This is a creamy shower gel which feels really moisturising – great if you’re in a rush in the mornings and don’t have time to moisturise!

IMG_1852

I love REN products but haven’t tried this particular one. The Instant Firming Beauty Shot, sounds a great boost for skin that’s looking a bit tired – it is actually described as ‘an espresso shot for the face’ which I am definitely in need of some days!

IMG_1853

The final item is a fun summery one. I really like these metallic tattoos from STYLondon – I’m going out in Bath on Saturday night so if I remember, I may wear one!

IMG_1854

No amazing stand-out products but a decent box this month. I think I am most looking forward to trying out the REN face serum although I have been hoarding all these samples for the past few months ready for my travel bag when we go to America so have lots to get through! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

