RSS Feed

Sunday Catch-up #23

Hello! This has been an interesting week for me as I have decided to try giving up sugar for 10 days…yeah, fun! I kept seeing more and more people trying this and saying how amazing they feel so I thought I would give it a go. What nobody mentions is the killer oh-my-god-I-cannot-even-open-my-eyes headache you get on about day 2 or 3! I seriously cannot remember feeling so bad but then I thought of how it was really just my body craving those toxins which made me determined to see it through. So far (6 days in) I have found I am sleeping really well, my skin looks great and I have lost just over 4lbs since Monday. If I manage to stick with this then I will probably write another post on it with any hints and tips I pick up.

This week I have been…

Making: the most of sunny afternoons with a run around the village

IMG_1619

Going: to village fetes

IMG_1649 IMG_1651

Wearing: my new H&M shirt

IMG_1641

Eating: this delicious starter at the Muddy Duck this week – crispy hens egg, asparagus, sun-blush tomatoes and Parmesan

IMG_1639

Drinking: this dark chocolate almond milk – it tastes amazing as a replacement for almond milk in my overnight oats!

IMG_1605

Reading: this new book – I haven’t started it yet but when I saw that it was about a guy who fell off the sugar-free bandwagon when he befriended a man who owned a doughnut shop, I had to get it!

IMG_1650

Watching: The Purge: Anarchy film – a really dark thriller

Buying: so many nuts and seeds!

Planning: non-sugar meals which is really hard…any recipe recommendations welcome!

Cooking: fish tacos

IMG_1611 IMG_1612

Baking: nothing this week

Writing: my blog posts for next week – I’m trying to post daily

Favouriting: Hannah Gale’s Trek America posts…they are making me so excited about our trip this summer!

Working on: choosing a healthy snack instead of crisps or chocolate

IMG_1602

Trying to decide: if these sugar-free headaches will be worth it?!

IMG_1613

Wishing: I can stay a bit more motivated when I get home in the evening

Enjoying: this postcard from my friend who is in Copenhagen which contains actual flower seeds – such a good idea!

IMG_1645

Needing: this horrible bruise on my arm to disappear

IMG_1642

Feeling: quite proud of my first nail striping attempt

IMG_1599

Giggling at: these cute piglets trying to get the best spot in the sunshine

IMG_1648

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. I’m trying to ditch the sugar too. Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

