RSS Feed

Recipe – Easy Mini Victoria Sponges

A bit of a cheat recipe today but one that I think is perfect to take on picnics – what is better on a summer’s day than a little Victoria sponge?!

I was in TKMaxx recently and picked up this baking tin for my cupboard, not realising it contained a baking kit inside too! I made my vanilla cakes as per the enclosed instructions but you can find a simple cupcake recipe online or buy some plain fairy cakes ready-made.

IMG_1159 IMG_1160

I made my cakes, let them cool and removed the paper cases.

IMG_1163 IMG_1164 IMG_1166 IMG_1167

To turn your plain cakes into Victoria sponges, you simply need to slice them in half and add jam and cream. I mixed mine up a bit and used strawberry jam, blackberry jam and lemon curd – I have to say the lemon curd ones were the winners for me! Not strictly speaking a Victoria sponge but a lovely summery twist on a traditional cake.

IMG_1169

You can either used freshly whipped cream or butter icing for the other filling – I find that fresh cream is good if you are going to eat the cakes that day but butter icing lasts a bit longer.

IMG_1171

Enjoy with a cup of tea or pack them up in your picnic basket and eat in the sunshine! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

