RSS Feed

Beauty Review – Two New Foundations

I popped into Boots recently for a new foundation and ended up coming away with two that are opposite ends of the spectrum; a long lasting matte-effect foundation from L’Oreal and a glowy, dewy affair from Maxfactor.

IMG_1324

First up the matte one. I bought L’Oreal’s Infallible 24H-Matte foundation in the shade Natural Rose. This is not the usual look I go for with my foundation but my skin can get quite shiny towards the end of the day so I thought I would try a matte formula and see if that would combat the shine.

IMG_1325

The colour match to my skin on this one is good and the formula is nice. It is silicone-based so spreads easily onto the skin and has a powder-like finish. I found this foundation to last well (although not the 24-hours as claimed on the tube!) and it definitely controlled the shine. I did find I had to prep my skin well with a good primer otherwise it did settle on and cling to any dry patches. Overall, a decent introduction into the world of matte foundations but I will save this for when my skin isn’t as dry.

Next, Maxfactor’s Skin Luminizer foundation in the shade Warm Almond. Now this is more my territory – I love a dewy base and I’ve had my eye on this product for a while.

IMG_1326 IMG_1327

The tube has a swirl of ‘skin luminizers’ within although it does mix and come out of the pump as one colour. I thought this would have very light coverage but I would class it as medium and a very creamy formula that you can build up. It almost feels moisturising on the skin but, like the matte foundation, did cling to my dry patches so a good primer is needed too. However, it does create a glow on the face and gives a fresh, luminous finish – I’m a fan!

So, two new ‘chalk ‘n’ cheese’ drugstore foundations that are in rotation for when I want a matte or glowy base…have you tried either of these? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

5 responses »

  1. I really want to buy the Maxfactor Skin luminizer but I think it might be a little too dewy for my skin, have you tried the maxfactor infiity foundation? I’m really wanting to try it but have yet to see many reviews on it xx

    Reply
  2. I have been eyeing up the infallible foundation for a while now, but I’ve always been a bit iffy on matte foundations. Even though I have suuuuper oily skin, I too get occasional dry flaky patches. Great little review though!! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

