RSS Feed

Recipe – Easy Nasi Goreng

It seems as though today was meant to be the nicest of this Bank Holiday weekend so I was determined to spend as much of it outside as possible. Ian and I headed to our nearest town, Bradford on Avon, for coffee, a food festival and picnic along the river before heading home for a spot of gardening and a good book in the sunshine…pretty perfect day!

IMG_1429 IMG_1430 IMG_1431

Today I wanted to share a quick and easy Malaysian rice recipe that is a great midweek option. I use a jar of Nasi Goreng paste for this which I know isn’t 100% authentic but, if you don’t have time to shop for lots of herbs and spices and grind up the paste, is a decent shortcut. I have made my own curry pastes before and have to say the jar options are really just as good!

IMG_1010

This paste is a really good cupboard staple to have as you just need to add rice then a mixture of vegetables, fish, tofu or meat and you are good to go – think of this as a spiced up version of egg fried rice!

IMG_1017

Ingredients

A glug of vegetable oil

A garlic clove

A pinch of dried chili flakes

One tray of fresh prawns

A few tablespoons of Nasi Goreng paste

A mixture of vegetables – I used baby sweetcorn, green beans and broccoli

Enough cooked egg fried rice for two people – see my recipe here 

How to make it

  • Begin by heating your oil on medium heat and lightly frying the garlic and chili flakes
  • Add your prawns

IMG_1012

  • Next, add the Nasi Goreng paste and give everything a good stir
  • Add your vegetables then tip in the rice

IMG_1013

  • Mix well and if needed, add a spoonful of water
  • Season with some soy sauce (or chili sauce if you want some extra spice!)
  • Serve with roti and a cold beer

IMG_1018

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

