RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #77 – Lily Flame Candles

I used to be somewhat precious about candles, saving them until any scent had all but disappeared and allowing them to collect dust. Shameful I know! Now, I am much more eager to actually use them to give a lovely warm glow to a room and fill it with a gorgeous scent.

For Christmas, my friend Hannah bought me this little candle tin by Lily Flame in the scent Wild Jasmine. After lighting it, I was amazed by how quickly it filled the room with its scent and really impressed at its burn time for such a dinky little tin!

IMG_1023

As soon as I had finished burning it, I knew I wanted to try some other scents from this brand and I was so happy to see that Lily Flame is a local business, hand-making these candles in nearby Somerset. I would always much rather buy locally and I found the bigger size tin for just under £10 in a wide range of scents…the hardest part was narrowing down which ones to order!

IMG_1024

I opted for a candle for our kitchen and another for the living room. Since buying a Parsley and Mint candle from Space NK, I am a real convert to using herbal candles to help get rid of leftover cooking smells because who wants their kitchen smelling like a perfumery?! I bought the Mellow Figs and Garden Mint and am really pleased with it as it is hard to buy something scented online based on a small description box.

IMG_1026

A lovely pale green colour, this is a very clean and fresh scent and reminds me of Diptyque’s Figuier candle (but for a fraction of the price!). It is a rich, earthy scent but the mint stops this being too heavy.

I also picked up the Fresh Linen candle tin as I just love the smell of washing fresh off the line. A pretty pale blue colour, this scent really lives up to its name and is just so ‘clean’ smelling!

IMG_1025

These slightly larger tins claim to have 30-35 hours burn time which I think makes them a great value candle. I am already planning the next scents to try out! x

IMG_1028

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

