RSS Feed

Book Corner – Latest Reads

A little insight into what books have made it onto my bedside table recently (no spoilers!)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

IMG_1157

A popular choice and one that caused me to have to ignore all reviews of the film based on this book before I had finished it! I’m glad I did though as I loved this story and it was one of those books that I just couldn’t put down. I liked how each chapter flitted from the viewpoint of the husband then the wife and I believe this title did live up to the hype.

I have since passed this title onto my Mum who thought the twists were really obvious but I really didn’t see them coming and thought the two main characters were really interesting and brilliantly written, especially Amy. I would highly recommend this one.

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes by Elizabeth Bard

IMG_0028

I was really looking forward to reading this book packed full of romance, Paris and food. It follows an American, Elizabeth, as she discovers her love for a Frenchman and his nation’s food. It’s funny how on paper this looked like an ideal book for me but in reality it didn’t quite hit the mark.

The positives centre on the food itself. The author spends a lot of time describing restaurants, meals and amazing French markets in detail and you could easily transport yourself to the streets of Paris for a few pages. Having studied French at university and spent some time studying there too, I could identify with her observations on French women, the frustrations of being an ex-pat and missing home comforts.

Unfortunately, the same level of detail was not given to the actual storyline and the author skimmed over major events like their wedding and a family death. This ambivalence for the plot, plus the fact that I really disliked the protagonist (who came across as somewhat of a spoilt brat), meant that this book was a bit love/hate for me. I really enjoyed the foodie parts but the storyline was so weak it just didn’t grab me.

The Number One Ladies Detective Agency Series by Alexander McCall Smith

IMG_0343

Now I like to keep up-to-date with the bestselling and prize-winning books but equally there is something to be said about an easy, uplifting, feel-good read too. This series is like an old friend to me and I am racing through them.

There are fifteen books in this series and I am on book seven after a few weeks. Set in Botswana, the books follow Precious Ramotswe as she solves small mysteries and carries out her daily tasks under the Botswana sun. There are no sensational murders or overtly dramatic storylines but rather a focus on morality and the small things in life. I love the picture that is painted of this slower-paced way of life and the lead character is a formidable lady too!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

