RSS Feed

Spring Fest 2015 – German Bier Festival, Alexandra Palace

Marriage is all about compromise and when Ian and I go away together, we put this to the test. Whilst we obviously love spending time together, our ideal plans are sometimes a little different so I usually drag Ian around countless bakeries and shops and he takes me to drink beer…simple!

When we first heard about the German Bier Festival at Alexandra Palace I have to admit I was slightly hesitant whereas Ian was already online sorting out tickets! I wasn’t sure if it would be a bit ‘laddy’ with only beer-drinking on the to-do list but I was very pleasantly surprised at what a brilliant atmosphere there was.

IMG_0676 IMG_0677

Luckily, our friend Lucie lives a ten minute stroll from the venue so we headed there on a rather drizzly Good Friday afternoon.

IMG_0679

This beer festival is the largest in the UK and is much more than a glorified pub. Set in the beautiful Alexandra Palace, the main hall was decked out with rows of wooden benches for groups to sit down together and enjoy the evening, with waitresses on hand for warm pretzels and jugs of cold beer.

IMG_0678 IMG_0685 IMG_0689

On the main stage, there were several performers – including a traditional oompah band and a Queen tribute act at the end of the night – which really got the crowd singing and dancing.

IMG_0702 IMG_0718 IMG_0724 IMG_0747

In the main entrance there were a variety of food stalls, all in keeping with the German theme, selling schnitzel, sausages, chips and a selection of speciality beers with more musicians playing to keep you entertained.

IMG_0672 IMG_0673

We stuck to the Pilsner on tap for most of the night although it was hard to keep up with how much you had drunk when you were constantly topping up your glass from the pitcher!

IMG_0729 IMG_0748

We were definitely merry when we walked home at the end of the night but I think the 11pm finish stopped things from getting too messy…and a cup of tea and a bacon sarnie in the morning did wonders for our heads too! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

