RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – The Perfect Grey/Lilac Shade

DIY can give you an enormous sense of achievement but there is one thing that just ruins it for me and that is the effect it has on my nails. Before I started work on our guest bedroom this week I removed my nail varnish as I hate chipped nails but within hours I had broken a nail and the others were looking decidedly ropey. I would never let my nails stop me from decorating but I did do a fair few emergency filings and a whole lot of cuticle oil applications to make up for the damage.

A weekend in London and an Easter wedding means a few days break from DIY for me so I jumped at the chance to get my nail varnishes out and give myself a quick manicure.

I was recently given a selection of Nails Inc polishes by a good friend and Pembridge Crescent really stood out as being a lovely grey-lilac colour that was unlike anything I own.

IMG_0624

I am currently undecided on what to wear to the wedding we are attending this weekend but both of my dress options have a lilac or pink element to them so I thought this would be an ideal shade.

IMG_0612 IMG_0613

After a layer of Orly’s Bonder basecoat, I applied two layers of this lilac shade which looks grey in some lights and purple in others. To be honest, I liked this colour so much I would have been happy to leave my nails like this but I recently bought this glitter from Avon in Blue Bursts and thought it would be a perfect option for an accent nail.

IMG_0615 IMG_0623

This glitter is another product that looks different in some lights, switching from an electric blue to purple. The glitter pay off wasn’t brilliant and I did have to go hunting for some of the bigger glitter pieces but I’m pleased with the final look.

IMG_0618

In the hope of making this last until the weekend, I sealed the look with a layer of Seche Vite.

Have a great Easter weekend – I hope you have already cracked out the hot cross buns and mini eggs! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. peppermintgirrl

    Beautiful colour!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

