RSS Feed

Recipe – Goats Cheese and Spinach Ravioli

Recipe – Goats Cheese and Spinach Ravioli

I feel I start a lot of my recipe posts with the caveat that they are really quick and simple to make. That’s how I want the majority of my midweek recipes to be but every now and then, when I have an afternoon free at the weekend, I like to get my hands (and kitchen!) messy and spend a few hours creating something special.

This recipe involves making pasta from scratch – without a pasta maker – and then rolling, filling and crimping the ravioli. Yes, it’s a bit more effort than buying a packet of the stuff but I can honestly say it was worth it and so much better than the ready-made stuff.

IMG_0466

Would I make it every weekend? No – it required quite a bit of time, created some mess and killed my hands rolling it out but for a special treat or when friends come over, I would definitely put the effort in and recreate this.

I used the John Lewis ravioli set which was a rather brilliant Christmas present from my friend Cat and contains everything you need for various sizes of ravioli.

IMG_0436 IMG_0437

I chose a vegetarian filling but there are so many options if you wanted to add meat or fish (I want to try a crab filling next!) I also wanted a really simple sauce to serve with the ravioli so made a kind of pesto drizzle but mixing up a spoonful of pesto with some good quality olive to thin it slightly.

Ingredients (for two people)

For the pasta:

300g of ‘00’ white flour

3 eggs

A pinch of salt

A glug of olive oil

For the filling:

Half a bag of fresh spinach

One little ‘log’ of soft goats cheese

Salt and pepper

A grating of nutmeg

For the sauce:

A tablespoon of fresh pesto

A good glug of olive oil

A handful of freshly grated Parmesan

How to make it

  • Begin with a large work surface (I used my kitchen table) and sift the flour

IMG_0430

  • Make a well in the centre and crack in the three eggs (confession…mine went all over the table!)

IMG_0431

  • Add the salt and about one tablespoon of olive oil
  • Using your hands, mix the ingredients together – it will start out as quite a crumbly texture but once you start kneading it, it will become a soft dough

IMG_0433

  • At this point, knead for 5-10 minutes and it should be a smooth dough

IMG_0435

  • Roll it into a ball, pop it in a bowl, cover with cling film and leave it to rest in the fridge for about half an hour
  • Whilst the dough is resting, make the filling
  • In a saucepan, wilt the spinach leaves then add the goats cheese

IMG_0438 IMG_0440

  • Season well with salt and pepper and grate some nutmeg into the pan too

IMG_0445 IMG_0446

  • Allow to cool
  • It is now time to get rolling!

IMG_0441

  • Lightly flour your work surface and start rolling out your pasta as thin as you can get it – this is quite a task as it’s a very springy dough that almost doesn’t want to be stretched but persevere!

IMG_0442 IMG_0443

  • Once the pasta sheet is as thin as possible, cut in half then spoon the filling in equally spaced mounds on the pasta

IMG_0444 IMG_0447

  • Brush the spaces between with a beaten egg

IMG_0448

  • Gently lay the other sheet of pasta over the top and press down around the fillings to remove any air bubbles

IMG_0449 IMG_0450

  • Use the ravioli cutter to create your pasta shapes

IMG_0451 IMG_0452 IMG_0454

  • Once you have all your ravioli squares (or circles!) ready, bring a pan of salted water to the boil and gently simmer the pasta for 3-6 minutes
  • Drain and serve with the pesto drizzle over the top – I couldn’t resist a handful of Parmesan too!

IMG_0460 IMG_0461

Like I said, this was really delicious and definitely worth the extra bit of effort…expect some more varieties on the blog soon x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

