RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Models Own Obsidian

A simple no-nail-art post today about a nail varnish I tried out last week. Part of their Velvet Goth collection (my inner 17 year old would love this range!), I received the Models Own shade Obsidian in a Birchbox delivery.

There were other shades available in the collection but I was drawn to this black, glittery polish.

You will notice these bottles come with a fuzzy velvet lid to reflect the Velvet Goth name and these claim to be matte yet sparkly with a velvet-like slightly textured finish.

IMG_0388

The bottle shows the shade to be an off-black, more of a very dark charcoal-grey with a variety of silver glitters inside.

This is a quick-drying formula which is good as you needed at least 2-3 layers for this to work.

Here are my nails after one layer:

IMG_0382

Two:

IMG_0384

And three layers:

IMG_0390

The formula is packed with glitter and the different shapes (some small, some hexes) give real depth to the polish once on the nails.

IMG_0387

Whilst it contains a good amount of glitter, it isn’t the most pigmented shade and was almost sheer with just one layer applied. The good news is that you can layer this up quite easily.

Models Own claim that this dries smooth but as expected with this much glitter, I found that it was a slightly raised finish. You can of course use a top coat to smooth things over but I didn’t want to lose the matte effect that this had.

IMG_0391

Overall, a deep, glittery and slightly goth manicure look. I’d quite like to try one of the brighter colours in this range to see if they colour pay-off is any better but on the whole a nice release from Models Own.

 IMG_0389

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

