RSS Feed

Recipe – Tom Yum Noodle Soup

We have been having a lot of soups lately. Today’s recipe is by no means an authentic, traditional Tom Yum soup (I don’t think the proper version has noodles in it) but it is my version and one that is quick and easy to make yet packed with flavour. It is really more of an aromatic broth and has a hot yet slightly sour taste.

IMG_0279

The noodles are optional and I enjoy this soup both with and without them. You can even do the super trendy Pinterest thing and take this to work in pretty mason jars…yeah, I did that!

I love using baby corn in this recipe and also had some pretty heritage carrots to add in the mix. Some greens, like sugar snap peas, work well and then a handful of fresh herbs and a squeeze of lime really finish it off. You could also throw in some prawns, chicken or beef but I like to keep this veggie.

IMG_0277

Ingredients

IMG_0278

A jar of Tom Yum paste

A handful of bite-sized vegetables (I used sugar snap peas, baby sweetcorn, orange and yellow carrots)

A strip of dried egg noodles

Fresh lime

Fresh coriander

How to make it

  • Half fill a saucepan with boiling water
  • Add a generous teaspoon of Tom Yum paste and stir well

IMG_0281

  • Add the vegetables and simmer for 5-10 minutes

IMG_0282

  • Add your noodles to the pan and allow to cook for another few minutes until softened

IMG_0283 IMG_0284

  • Serve with a squeeze of lime and plenty of fresh coriander

 IMG_0287

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

