RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – Lilac and Sequins

A really fun but slightly fiddly manicure this week!

IMG_0144

I’m trying to take better care of my nails and include a good base coat when wearing nail varnish. I own several but am sometimes so keen to try out a new colour that I can be a bit lazy and skip this step.

IMG_0274

This week, I used Orly’s Bonder which is perfectly described as a ‘rubberized basecoat’. It dries as a sort of matte glue-like finish and is meant to ‘grip’ onto your nail varnish meaning it will last longer and won’t transfer any colour to your nails either.

IMG_0276

For the main colour, I used the Illamasqua shade Jan which is a beautiful creamy pink-hued lilac. This gave excellent coverage in two coats and I continue to be impressed with the polishes from this brand.

For my accent nails, I decided to try out this gorgeous bottle by Ciate in Tinsel Trail. Described on the bottle as ‘sequins’, these flecks are loose (as opposed to being suspended in a clear nail varnish) pieces of diamond-shaped tinsel in a holographic silver and electric blue shades. They are really vibrant although you do need a bit of patience with the placement…and don’t sneeze or cough as these will be everywhere!

IMG_0275

I tipped a few pieces out of the bottle then used a nail dotting pen to pick them up and place the diamonds on my nails whilst the nail varnish was still wet. I kept them roughly in lines and tried to alternate between the two colours.

IMG_0143

I always think the true test of how difficult nail art is comes down to whether I, as a right-handed person, can use my left hand to do the nail art on myself. In this case I could so whilst it is definitely fiddly, it is pretty straightforward and if you have enough patience, you can copy this look!

IMG_0140 IMG_0141

I used a layer of Seche Vite to seal this manicure and am pleased to report that this stayed for about a week with no chipping. I love how vibrant these little diamonds look and if I ever find myself with an hour to kill, I would love to try this look out on every nail! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

