RSS Feed

Beauty Review – February Birchbox

I hope you had a great Pancake Day whatever fillings graced your pancakes! We opted for pesto, bacon and goats cheese for our main course and good old golden syrup for pudding and they were delicious.

I woke up very excited today – Ian and I are off to a boutique country house hotel in Buckinghamshire for a couple of days. We will be enjoying a taster menu at the hotel one night and a meal at Heston’s pub, The Hind’s Head, on the other night as well as exploring the local villages (and pubs!) together…I can’t wait!

Onto this month’s Birchbox now. After being slightly disappointed by last month’s offering, I was hoping that this month’s box would be better and at first glance, I was impressed:

IMG_0161 IMG_0163

There was a Valentines theme this month full of much-loved products. Again, slightly tenuous but definitely seasonal.

IMG_0162

The first item I grabbed was this packet of Oats and Chia by The Chia Co. I received the mixed berry flavour and as a fan of flavoured porridge sachets, I cannot wait to try this much healthier version. Packed with wholegrain oats, chia, fruit and virgin coconut oil, this pack is ticking all the ‘trendy healthy food’ boxes!

IMG_0164

A Bontanical Shine Shampoo from Liz Earle next, a brand I love. This is already packed for our mini break and smells amazing – I’m looking forward to trying this out.

IMG_0165

I’m a bit miffed at this next product as I already received it in a previous Birchbox! I think this is really poor admin on the part of Birchbox to receive a second tube of Stainiac by theBalm. This is akin to Benetint; a cheek and lip stain that gives a good pop of colour. As I said, I already own this and don’t use it that often so this will probably be passed on to my Mum.

IMG_0166

A shower gel next by T London. How much can you say about a shower gel?! It smells lovely, does the job and it was a good sample size.

IMG_0167

I was really pleased with the next item; a Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask by one of my favourite skincare brands, REN. This is another item I am packing for our mini-break to enjoy whilst having a deep bubble bath!

IMG_0168

The final item is a full-sized product worth £21 from Wild About Beauty. I have to admit that I have only tried a cream eyeshadow from the brand before and wasn’t overly impressed by it but I am willing to trial this Golden Skin Glow with an open mind. This is designed to be applied either alone or before foundation to give your skin a boost and a golden glow – very handy in these winter months when we are all feeling a bit pale and interesting!

IMG_0169 IMG_0170

I think it is fair to say that Birchbox has redeemed itself this month with a really good selection of products…time to start testing them all out! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

