RSS Feed

Beauty Review – Effaclar Duo Plus

If I had to name one of my beauty products as being the most hardworking, effective and reliable solutions to blemishes then this would be it. It’s not the most glamorous of items but then spots and blemishes aren’t really, are they?!

I am lucky in that my skin is relatively clear and I only tend to get the odd spot every few weeks. Correct that, I used to only get the odd spot every few weeks thanks to this product. Now, as soon as I feel that angry little red bump on my face start to appear, I simply pop on a squeeze of this treatment cream and it seems to stop spots in their tracks before they can even develop.

IMG_0087

It is for this reason that I felt this little tube from La Roche Posay deserved a post of its own!

I bought this on a whim during a little French skincare haul simply because I had read several rave reviews about it although deep down, I did feel that some of it must be good old blogger-hype. However, after a couple of uses I was happy to say that this really is as fab as everyone says it is as a blemish treatment.

This isn’t a product that I use daily and you only need a very small amount of this so I can see the 40ml tube lasting me quite a while. It isn’t too harsh or drying like a lot of spot treatments and has a clean and fresh but neutral scent.

IMG_0088

I have read some reviews where it has been used as a primer or moisturiser and I did give this a go too.  It has a gel-like consistency, more like a serum than a moisturiser, and it did sink into my skin quickly. Whilst it was fine as a light moisturiser, my skin gets quite dry over the winter so it definitely needs a bit more moisture at the moment than this could offer.

Whilst I don’t think this product is too badly priced for an effective spot treatment to be used a couple of times a month, if I used it as moisturiser then it does become rather more expensive and there are just other brands and formulas I would rather spend my pennies on.

Saying that, it is the only blemish treatment I have ever bought that actually works and stops spots developing so for that reason, I highly rate this product and will definitely be repurchasing it.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

