RSS Feed

Recipe – Cola Cupcakes

Happy weekend! It is a rather dull and grey Saturday here but I forced myself to go for a run and was really pleased to see I have hit the half stone mark on my New Year weight loss! I keep seeing the saying about summer bikini bodies being made in winter and I guess it’s true although it’s so tough to pull on your running shoes when it’s cold and windy outside.

In a complete about-turn, I am going to talk cupcakes now! I only made a small batch of these again and have been rationing myself to half a cake per day so although I am eating much healthier at the moment, I don’t feel completely denied of all treats.

IMG_1273

These have that lovely sweet, almost lemony cola flavour and I put this in both the cake and the icing to get a double hit of flavour…and of course, I just had to decorate them with some cola bottles too!

Ingredients (for 8 cupcakes)

 IMG_1249

For the cakes

40g of butter or margarine, at room temperature

140g of caster sugar

120g of plain flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

A pinch of salt

1 teaspoon of cola syrup/ flavouring

140ml of milk

1 egg

For the icing

125g of icing sugar

40g of butter, at room temperature

1 teaspoon of cola flavouring

15ml of milk

Cola bottles for decoration

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and line your muffin tray with cupcake cases
  • I used my Kitchen Aid for the mixing but it can obviously be done by hand too! Whisk together the butter, sugar, flour, baking powder and salt until combined

IMG_1250

  • In a separate jug, mix the cola flavouring, milk and egg then gradually add this to the dry ingredients in the mixer until smooth

IMG_1251

  • Pour the batter into the cupcake cases (about half to two-thirds full) and then pop them in the oven

IMG_1252

  • Bake for about 20 minutes until golden brown and cooked throughout

IMG_1253

  • Allow to cool while you make the frosting

IMG_1254

  • Whisk together the icing sugar and butter
  • In a separate jug or cup, mix the cola flavouring and milk then add it to the icing until it is light and fluffy
  • Once the cupcakes have cooled, spread the icing on top with a knife or teaspoon
  • Top with the cola bottles and enjoy!

IMG_1272

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

