RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #69 – A little bit of Bourjois

In between getting my hair highlighted and meeting Ian for lunch a few weeks ago, I found myself with some time to spare so I wandered over to Boots to see what was new on the make-up stands.

I was after a new foundation and planning on splurging on a bottle of Chanel Vitalumière when I decided to pick up a bottle of Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation instead. Better than half the price of Chanel’s offering and with rave reviews, I was hoping this would help me on my quest for the perfect dewy base.

Along with the foundation, I also saw the Happy Light Base Serum Lumière and thought the two would be the perfect pairing.

Not one to miss a bargain, there was on offer on for a free lip product too so I picked up one of the Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks in Olé Flamingo; a bright raspberry pink.

IMG_0008

Having used these three products for the last few weeks, here are my musings on them:

The Foundation

I really like this foundation!

IMG_0009

To give this a proper trial, I first wore this foundation alone, without any base product or primer. I was pleased to see that this looked great on its own and had that dewy finish I was looking for. This offers medium coverage but it is buildable. I applied this with my Real Techniques buffing brush for a flawless, radiant finish. Also, this formula smelled amazing and comes in a nice bottle with a handy pump which allows you to control the output.

The Primer

Another great little purchase!

IMG_0010

This primer takes the Healthy Mix Foundation to another level and together they form my ‘Dewy Skin Dream Team’! Whilst the foundation did look fine on its own, when paired with the Happy Light Base Serum Lumière, it gave my skin a ‘glow from within’ as well as giving the foundation a bit more staying power. The formula is quite gel-like but is not sticky and despite being a peachy-pink colour in the tube, it dries to a smooth, golden shimmer whilst feeling quite hydrating.

The Lipstick

IMG_0011 IMG_0012

I was torn between which shade to buy but opted for a bright pink shade to rock a bold lip. The formula is the real winner here. It has the most amazing staying power and will not budge even after eating and drinking. This is also its only downside – it can be a bit of a mission to remove this and I have had to resort to my heavy-duty eye makeup remover to help out! This formula dries to a matte finish so you do need to have ‘good lips’ as a matte product can be quite unforgiving. I’m not sure what the ‘velvet’ in the name refers to but I am definitely converted to these Rouge Edition Velvet Lipsticks.

Overall, a very successful mini-haul. It reminded me of what a great brand Bourjois are and why you don’t have to spend a fortune to get a really great foundation! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Great products you picked up from Bourjois! I’ve heard great things about that foundation and the lipstick! Thanks for the mini reviews too! ^^ ❤

    Reply
  2. Have you tried the healthy mix serum? One of my most favourite foundations ever! X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

