RSS Feed

Cook Book Corner

If I had to answer the question ‘Do you really need any more cook books?’ I would, of course, say no. I have 4 shelves full of them and although I use them regularly for specific recipes or just for some inspiration, I know that whatever I cannot find at home, I can find online.

However, I just cannot help myself when it comes to cook books. I love food photography and the accompanying writing and stories as much as the recipes themselves.

So when I found myself in WHSmiths recently, I was sucked in, twice, to their till-side items. Both of these books were reduced to a fiver (from £26 and £25) which eases my guilt somewhat as I try and squeeze them on to my already crowded bookshelves.

First up, Save with Jamie.

img

Aimed at providing great tasting food on a budget, this is a really great cook book. It starts with a good list of basic items to have in your freezer, fridge and cupboards followed by a list of tips on how to ‘shop smart’. Since I have started meal planning, I have noticed a big reduction in how much I throw away (almost nothing goes in the bin now) so these tips on combining good food with little waste struck a chord with me.

The rest of the book is split into sections on veg and various meats and fish with gorgeous photos too. As an aside, the calories in each dish are also noted which is useful if you have managed to stick to your healthy eating New Year’s resolutions!

I don’t think I have ever tried a Jamie recipe that didn’t turn out great and I am busy bookmarking some new ones to try.

Next, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall’s Fruit.

IMG_0006

Apart from the odd inclusion in a pudding, I don’t have any cook books dedicated to fruit in every shape and form. I really like that there is a variety of sweet and savoury dishes with healthy options and others to save as treats.

I can’t see myself using this on a weekly basis like Jamie’s book, but I buy lots of fruit so having some new ideas on how to serve them will come in handy.

Two nice additions to the collection!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

