RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #68 – Illamasqua Mystery Selection

This is a box I bought a little while ago but am only just getting around to really using and I am kicking myself for waiting so long!

IMG_1225

I don’t have many Illamasqua products but when I saw this box advertised with contents worth around £120, I decided to risk it and try a few out. This is an amazing edgy British make-up brand, renowned for excellent pigmentation and a daring approach to colour.

Here is what I received in my box:

IMG_1226

Six make-up products including one of their cult Precision Ink eyeliners and Liquid Metal eyeshadow creams.

I was really happy to see this box included two nail products and luckily I love them both!

IMG_1230

Jan is a creamy pinky lilac shade which I love. It claims to be a chip-resistant which I will gladly put to the test.

IMG_1233

The other nail varnish is Gamma; a bright orange. It is described online as a neon orange but I see a coral tone to it to. This one will look great with a tan…wishful thinking in January!

IMG_1231

Onto the eyeliner now and I received the shade Glister in their Precision Ink pen. This comes with a pointed sponge applicator and is a beautiful nude/pink shade with a hint of fine glitter. I usually go for darker coloured eyeliners but I think this lighter shade will look great on. After a few swatches, I could see why this item has such amazing reviews – the stuff does not budge! I think I may even try it all over the lid too as this is my go-to shade for a nude eye. I was very impressed with this inclusion to the box.

IMG_1227 IMG_1229

Staying with another product Illamasqua are famous for now, their Liquid Metal cream eyeshadows. I received the shade Electrum, a beautiful rich gold which can be applied with fingertips to create a sheer wash of colour or built up for a more dramatic look. This is not your low-quality cream eyeshadow that will slip and slide on your eyelids and crease within minutes of wearing it. This is very pigmented and will last.

IMG_1235

The last two products were normal powder eyeshadows.

IMG_1237

Firstly, Control, a matte off-white shade. This is my least favourite item of them all, simply because I’m not too sure how to best wear it! I think it would be OK as a base colour, or maybe a matte highlighter shade but I will have to have a play around first.

IMG_1238

The other shade was Flasher, another matte in a deep olive-green with a hint of brown when applied. This is a lovely texture and easy to blend. Actually, all the eye products have a gold/ nude/ bronze element to them which is right up my street.

IMG_1239

The only other thing I would mention is how gorgeous the packaging is; very sleek and easy to open and close.

IMG_1236

All in all, this box was an excellent purchase and a great way to get to know the brand. Unfortunately it has completely converted me to Illamasqua which is not so good for my bank balance!

IMG_1240

Are there any more must-try Illamasqua goodies I need to know about? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

