RSS Feed

Beauty Review – One Girl, Four Hot-Cloth Cleansers

Ahhh Mondays. Love ‘em or loathe ‘em, I think it’s fair to say that there is always a feeling of achievement when it is over and the week is underway. Due to my school timetable, I actually quite like Mondays and I also have my Pilates class in the evening meaning I start the week on quite a good, healthy footing.

Anyway, onto cleansers now, specifically the ones I have been using in the evening to remove my make-up. Strictly speaking, only three of the four are ‘hot-cloth’ cleansers, but I use them all the same way so felt they would all fit into this review.

DSCN0641

I am a complete convert to this type of cleanser, so much so that if I just use a traditional cleanser on cotton wool or (if I’m feeling super lazy) a face wipe, I just don’t feel clean enough. The only downside is that I do get through an awful lot of muslin cloths and scrubbies!

The Cult One:

IMG_1192

Oh Liz Earle Cleanse and Polish how I love thee! I currently only have a mini version at home but this is a product I repurchase time and again and it is probably my favourite of the four. I have reviewed this before, but I just love its clean, botanical scent and it does the trick on all eye make-up too.

The Luxe One:

IMG_1193

A French skincare brand I am growing to love the more products I try, I bought this Nuxe Melting Cleansing Gel based on its rose petal ingredient and my fondness for all things rose-scented. It turns out that it was a good gamble as I really like this cleanser. It removes all eye make-up and smells amazing. The texture is lovely too – don’t let the ‘gel’ part put you off as this is still very creamy and luxurious.

The High-Street One:

IMG_1194

One that is more easily available on the high street from the Boots No7 range and their Beautiful Skin Hot Cloth Cleanser. I have just come to the end of this bottle and was quite happy with it. It did the job in terms of make-up removal but I just wasn’t a huge fan of the scent, it being a tad too floral and soapy smelling. I would use it again if it came as part of a set but I don’t think I would go out of my way to buy it, simply because I love the Liz Earle and Nuxe ones so much.

The Budget One:

IMG_1196

A slightly cheaper option now from Superdrug’s Vitamin E Hot Cloth Cleanser. This came with a nice muslin cloth and is an okay cleanser. It has an oaty, wheat-like scent and feels very moisturising. I have to admit that it doesn’t always remove all of my eye make-up and as it is a rather thick formula, it can sometimes be a bit of a struggle to squeeze it out of the tube with wet hands. I am about halfway through this cleanser and I will finish it off but I’m afraid I probably wouldn’t buy this one again.

Do you have any other hot cloth recommendations? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

