RSS Feed

Recipe – My Revamped Avocado Pasta

I don’t usually revisit my previous recipes but when you end up with something so delicious, you feel you just have to share it!

I first posted about my Avocado Pasta dish in June 2013 and it is a staple in our household when we get hold of some ripe avocados: a simple midweek dinner option with minimal ingredients.

However, I often look at cooking as a chance to experiment and use up any leftover ingredients and that’s exactly what I did this week.

I kept the basics the same; ripe avocado, garlic, chili flakes and parsley, but added a few little extras in the form of creamy goats cheese, sundried tomatoes and, my favourite ingredient, chorizo.

The result was the same creamy, comforting pasta dish but with a little somethin’ somethin’

Ingredients

IMG_1078

Enough spaghetti or linguine for two people

2 ripe avocados

1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried chili flakes

Half a chorizo sausage, cubed

2 tablespoons of soft goats cheese

About a dozen sundried tomatoes, chopped

A handful of fresh parsley

Smoked paprika (optional)

How to make it

  • Begin by adding your pasta to a pan of boiling, salted water and cook until al dente
  • In a bowl, scoop out the flesh of the avocado and whip it up with a fork
  • Add the garlic, salt, pepper and chili
  • Mix well then have a taste to see if the flavours are balanced. Add some more seasoning or chili if needed
  • Add the chorizo, goats cheese and sundried tomatoes and give everything a good mix
  • Stir through the parsley

IMG_1079

  • When the pasta is cooked, drain it then add it to the avocado mixture and toss together
  • Serve with a sprinkling of parsley and a sprinkling of smoked paprika

IMG_1081

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Recipe – Bacon and Avocado Risotto | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

