RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – The Northey Arms, Box

A couple of weeks ago, Ian and I headed down the road to revisit the Northey Arms, a country pub that we’ve enjoyed some good meals at before.

After a quick G&T at the bar, we were seated in the restaurant area to have a good nose through the menu.

For my starter, I ordered chicken liver parfait which was served with a brioche roll, some chutney and rocket, which I think is the devil’s food! I really enjoyed this starter (once I had tipped the rocket onto Ian’s plate!); the pate was beautifully rich and creamy, the chutney had a good amount of spiced fruitiness and the brioche roll was tasty too. My only complaint was that there wasn’t enough brioche for the amount of parfait. A second roll or some additional crackers would have been nice.

IMG_0519

Ian had deep fried crab served with a mango salsa and avocado sorbet. I only had a bit of the sorbet, which was beautifully creamy, but I got a thumbs up from him for the starter!

IMG_0520

For our mains, I opted for lamb and Ian had a steak.

My lamb was served perfectly medium-rare on ratatouille, potatoes, more rocket and a lovely sauce. The lamb was gorgeous but I just wish there was more of it as I didn’t really enjoy the ratatouille. It was a bit bland although I’m not the biggest fan of aubergine.

IMG_0521

Ian had a whopping steak (I can’t remember if it was a T-bone or rib-eye) served with green beans, grilled mushrooms and roasted vine tomatoes. He also ordered some chips and a delicious Roquefort and parsley butter.

IMG_0523

Honestly, one of those crispy chips dipped in the rich, cheesy sauce was a little taste of heaven!

IMG_0524 IMG_0525

As always, I had saved room for a pudding but after trying to catch the eye of a waitress for over 10 minutes, I soon got bored of waiting and we left. This was such a shame and left a bit of a sour taste after a really nice meal. I am quite ruthless when it comes to poor service as I think there are just so many good places to eat near us that I don’t feel we need to waste our time and money at a place that doesn’t offer decent service. Too harsh?!

It may have been a one off with the poor service as previously I had liked the atmosphere and there’s no denying the food is really good here. And I may have to go back for that cheesy chip combination soon!

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

