RSS Feed

Beauty Review – January Birchbox

This month, Birchbox has teamed up with Women’s Health to create a box that is perfect for the New Year. You may have noticed that the majority of blogs are currently full of people professing their good intentions for 2015 and Birchbox have capitalised on this brilliantly. I have to admit that I have never read Women’s Health but I read through the ‘Hit Refresh’ mini magazine with interest. There are little challenges set, such as eating veggies for breakfast and adding short bursts of cardio into your daily routine, which some may find motivating. I personally wouldn’t base a lifestyle change on a freebie magazine but it does go with the overall theme.

DSCN0560 DSCN0561

Right, onto the actual box and here was my first peek at the contents:

DSCN0562

The first thing I noticed was the Stila lip glaze. I already have a couple of these and really like them. I received the shade Glimmer which is a shimmery nude peach. It did look rather glittery in the tube but after a few clicks and a swipe on the lips I was pleased to see it just gives a light shimmer. This would look great on its own or layered over a lipstick for a bit of extra sparkle. These retail for £15 each so it’s great to add another one to my collection!

DSCN0566

A body lotion next from HealGel. I haven’t heard of this brand before but like the tube and packaging. The product is actually a gel which I’m usually not a fan of but this is very lightweight and easily absorbed into the skin. It has a pleasant herbal, botanical scent but the size of the sample means you won’t get a decent amount of applications from it.

DSCN0571

Next, a mini shower gel from Activbod. This smells fine but the packaging isn’t that great and I don’t think anyone needs a specific shower gel post-workout!

DSCN0572

Something from Caudalie next – one of my favourite skincare brands. This is their Radiance Serum and I can’t wait to try it out…a great inclusion for me!

DSCN0569

My final beauty product is from a really decent hair care brand – Philip Kingsley. I am a big fan of their cult Elasticizer product and used this Body Builder Conditioner this morning. After one use I can confirm that it left my hair soft and shiny and the smell reminded me of parma violets which is a winner for me!

DSCN0568

Two ‘lifestyle’ products were included in the box too. A green tea powder from Embrace Matcha which will make a nice change from my usual cuppa.

DSCN0573

There was also a Pilates band which I was really happy to see. I love my weekly Pilates session but I haven’t ever tried it using these resistance bands. I plan on speaking to my Pilates teacher tonight and seeing how I can best use it although I’m sure there will be countless videos online too!

DSCN0574

Overall, an OK box. I think this month’s Birchbox was pretty average and I don’t really see the ‘get healthy’ theme throughout all of the products. My favourite items were tried and tested brands (Stila, Philip Kingsley and Caudalie) and I don’t feel like I have discovered any other gems this time around.

DSCN0575

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

