RSS Feed

My Five Year Journal

Today I wanted to share one of the Christmas presents I received from Ian: this beautiful journal.

DSCN0543

A five-year journal may sound a little overwhelming to some but I had been wanting to do something like this for a while so put this item on my Christmas wish list to start in the new year. I absolutely love looking back on my blog and see what I was doing 2 or 3 years ago but I know that I do not have the time or discipline to keep a proper diary so this book was ideal for me.

DSCN0542

Rather than needing to write pages each day, there are 365 short questions to prompt you; some are quite short and matter-of-fact whilst others are more thought provoking and philosophical. There is also no set date in the book so you can start at any time, making this a nice gift.

DSCN0546

I love the contents of this journal but I think it is beautiful too. The brown parcel paper cover gives it a vintage feel and the decorative script and gold-edged pages make it look lovely sat on my bedside table.

DSCN0549 DSCN0551

I have been writing in this every evening and the answers are so short that it never feels daunting or like a chore and it really makes you reflect on your day – the highs and lows.

Surprisingly, this journal is rather compact which will make it ideal for travelling with too.

DSCN0548

I cannot wait to use this for years to come and see what changes life brings!

DSCN0541

Do you keep a journal or diary? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Sunday Catch-up #38 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

