RSS Feed

2014

Yes, it’s that time of the year again where I have a little look back at the year that has passed and start to think about 2015. I can’t quite believe that it has been 15 years since we celebrated the millennium, let alone that another 12 months have slipped by!

January

We welcomed in the New Year with our best friend in London, watching fireworks over the city whilst sipping champagne.

nye3

It was our ten year anniversary together so Ian and I celebrated a decade together with a slap-up steak dinner.

jan 7th 2 CIMG5829

We also attempted ‘Dry January’ which was torturous but kind of worth it in the end!

gpt5

On the blog I made my Cheeseboard Quiche to use up our leftover Christmas cheese, shared my bedtime beauty routine, tasted some new teas and tried out my new doughnut maker.

cheese19bed12tea9dn4

February

We celebrated my Mum finishing her final cycle of chemo with a few beers and my blueberry cheesecake.

ch16 ch15

During half-term, we headed to London for a few days with friends and a bit of pampering.

mw11

The house improvements continued with new windows and doors being fitted.

ch17

On the blog I mastered the perfect potato dauphinoise, shared some Valentine-inspired nails and enjoyed some dark chocolate and cranberry flapjacks.

val4 pot3 flap10

March

In March, Ian and I went to see one of our favourite bands, Twenty One Pilots, who were amazing live.

gig14 gig15

We took a walk in the spring sunshine then celebrated Pancake Day in style with my bourbon and bacon pancakes.

tip5 pc5 dl10 dl12

Ian and I enjoyed a fantastic ‘Pork Scratchings and Beer’ evening.

trot2 trot6

I discovered Boots No7 skincare and Tiger!

tiger13 tiger11 tiger7 boots17

On the blog I shared my TV favourites (some good stuff and some trashy guilty pleasures!), made more flapjacks (white chocolate and apricot this time), tried a new manicure technique and wore a onesie to work!

download (1) fj2 tip23 arm1

April

I spent most of my Easter break completing a little makeover of our conservatory.

con20 con27 con36

But we did find time for a mini break to the lovely city of Oxford for a few days.

ox36

I fell in love with the Urban decay Naked 3 eyeshadow collection.

ud13

On the blog I shared my recipe for Perfect Egg Fried Rice, tried out ‘reverse hair washing’ and went a bit mad buying rugs!

rug2 tommyguns rice2

May

May was a bit of a disappointing month as I found out that a trip to China I had been looking forward to for months had fallen through. However, I was soon cheered up when the sun arrived and we had our first BBQ of the year.

bbq25 bbq18 food24

I did a little makeover of our front gates.

gate28 gate13

Ian and I tried out a great little pop-up lobster restaurant.

birch16

I discovered the best time-saving item for my nails.

nv1

We visited another food festival.

bbq3 bbq7 bbq11 bbq9

On the blog I shared my mini carrot and cranberry loaves, my lemon nails and my giant cous cous recipe.

cous9 cous1 lemon5 cc15

June

This month, Ian and I went to Frome Independent, a great little monthly market nearby.

frome11 frome5 frome3 frome7 frome10

I did my favourite ever manicure inspired by my love of anchors!

naut14

My roses came out to bloom and my tomatoes and raspberries were doing well too.

cu18 cu2 cu14 cu11 pie25

It was our village summer fete and we manned the bottle stall…and sold out!

fete5 fete8

On the blog I shared a ham pie, some refreshing summer drinks and a French skincare haul.

haul1 cool14 cool3 cool5 pie17

July

This month we started off celebrating birthdays with friends.

7stars10

The weather was glorious so we spent a lot of time outside gardening and BBQ-ing.

boat3 quiche17 quiche3 quiche2

Ian and I headed down to London for a weekend and enjoyed a fabulous meal with friends at Bob Bob Ricard.

bob14 bob15 bob1 london24 london4

On the blog I shared a matte pastel manicure, my summer sandals and a lovely summer quiche recipe.

san12 pastel2 quiche8

August

My favourite month as it means no work! For my birthday and our first wedding anniversary, Ian and I went camping on the Dorset coast for a few days.

camp3 camp10 camp13 camp14 camp22 camp18 camp19 camp24

We enjoyed an amazing tasting menu at Mat Follas’ new restaurant.

camp4

I spent some time finishing off our hallway makeover.

hall69 hall67 hall66 hall64 hall54 hall47

We also had a wonderfully relaxing week away in Majorca.

maj115 maj90 maj64 maj69 maj68 maj42 maj36 maj23 maj5

And our best friends welcomed the beautiful Ivy Rose into the world.

shop23 shop22

On the blog I shared my summer holiday packing tips, some Clinique goodies, a spot of upcycling and a tasty summer salad.

tuna1 up2 shop12 hol1

September

My back-to-school month!

I gave our bedroom a much-needed makeover.

bed41 bed39 bed37 bed4

We made another trip to Frome market.

frome10 frome9 frome15

Ian was 30 so I took him to an ale festival…he bought himself a sports car (without telling me!)

cod8 ale9

We ate at my Dad’s new restaurant.

cod14 cod3 cod12

On the blog I shared my brush-cleaning tips, a houndstooth manicure, a delicious orzo pasta recipe and my summer book recommendations.

orzo1 book5 dog5 brush1

October

Quite a greedy month for us! We enjoyed a great tasting menu at the Milking Parlour

milk13 milk5

…and another one at our local pub, the Muddy Duck!

duck10 duck13 duck14 duck17 duck15 duck8 duck5 duck1

We took another trip to London for a few days to enjoy some art, a show, sightseeing  and lots of food.

DSCN0344 DSCN0296 DSCN0299 DSCN0284 DSCN0293 DSCN0276 IMG_0412 IMG_0393 IMG_0385 IMG_0378

On the blog I shared my meatloaf recipe, some new vintage furniture, my daisy nails and my love for Real Techniques brushes.

rt13 daisy3 lp9 loaf10

November

We had a belated Halloween experiencing ‘Fear’: a terrifying set of mazes inhabited by zombies and other scary characters!

IMG_0461 IMG_0473

I was a bit late to the Kale Chips party.

IMG_0483

On the blog I shared my mini lemon meringue pies, my meal planning tips, a new mac ‘n’ cheese recipe and some spotty nails.

meal1 IMG_0506IMG_0550DSCN0445

December

My favourite but also busiest month!

I loved my advent calendars this year from Ciate and Boots No7.

IMG_0669 IMG_0438 IMG_0642 IMG_0736

My favourite things about Christmas.

DSCN0478 DSCN0477 DSCN0474

On the blog I shared my new breakfast shortcut, a festive manicure and some Christmas highlights.

IMG_0833 IMG_0692 IMG_0911 IMG_0913 IMG_0910 IMG_0884

Phew! I loved writing this post – there were so many lovely things that I had completely forgotten about and it made me really excited about what 2015 may have in store!

All that is left for me to do now is to wish all my lovely readers a great New Year’s Eve. Having not been at home for a few days, I am planning a very chilled out evening. Ian is cooking scallops followed by ribs which is pretty much my Death Row ideal meal and we will no doubt welcome midnight in our pyjamas with cocktails and a bit of Jools Holland! xxx

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

