RSS Feed

Beauty Review – December Birchbox

 

An early Christmas present to myself and one of the prettiest Birchboxes I have received yet! This month, Birchbox have collaborated with designer Sophia Webster and all the products inside have a festive, party-feel to them.

DSCN0480 DSCN0481

Here was my first peek inside:

DSCN0482

First up, a nourishing shampoo from Electric Hair. Not a brand I have heard of before, but a travel-sized shampoo is always handy.

DSCN0485

A pretty Christmas cracker next from Benefit, one of my favourite brands. This contained a mini version of High Beam, a beautiful liquid highlighter. I own the full-sized version of this but always appreciate a mini bottle for my make-up bag.

DSCN0489 DSCN0490

This winter, I have been using facial oils overnight a lot more to nourish and add some much needed moisture back into my skin. I have heard good things about this Trilogy Rosehip Oil. A couple of drops is all you need and who doesn’t love using a pipette! I was hoping that the scent would be slightly stronger but if it works then I don’t mind too much.

DSCN0494 DSCN0503

This month, I had the opportunity to pre-order my chosen shade of Model’s Own Nail Varnish. I opted for Obsidian, a dark grey-black shade packed with glitter and a matte, velvety finish. The velvet lid feels pretty nice too! This is a really unique polish and I don’t own anything like it.

DSCN0495 DSCN0497

Next, a lovely product by Eyeko. Now I know everybody raves about their liquid eyeliners but I don’t rate them that highly. However, I will keep an open mind for this product. This stick is an almost eyeshadow/eyeliner blend in a deep grey colour. It has just the right amount of shimmer to it and seems perfect for blending and creating a sultry, smoky eye.

DSCN0498

A generous sample next from Eslor. This is their Firming Collagen Day Cream which looks like a very high-end brand and at £50 for a full-sized tub is hopefully good stuff!

DSCN0501

Finally, the little extra this month was a pretty purse by Sophia Webster which is worth £25. I thought that was a bit of an over-exaggeration but when her clutch bags go for over £300 that sounds about right. I find these little coin purses very handy and think I will use this one to keep my needles and thread in as I have recently joined the cross stitching gang! More on that soon!

DSCN0499

Overall, a cool little Birchbox this month. I was expecting a slightly more festive theme but I am glad there wasn’t a glitter overload and some really nice skin products to try out.

DSCN0500

I hope you have a relaxing Sunday. I am meeting my brother and his girlfriend later and they are cooking us dinner for the first time in their new flat. My little bro has just moved to Bath and I am so happy to have him living nearby! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

