RSS Feed

Meal Plannin’

Yeah, that title is my lame attempt to make this post sound cooler than it is!

In recent weeks I have found myself doing something I never thought would happen and it weirdly makes me very happy!

meal1

Dinner through the week for us can be quite varied. I usually try and make a large meal, like a lasagne or fish pie, at the weekends which I can usually stretch out for another few meals. The rest of the time is a hodgepodge (great word!) of items found in the cupboard, fridge or freezer that sometimes work together but sometimes don’t! I also found myself popping to the supermarket 3 or 4 times a week which soon adds up when you have other things you want to do in the evenings like binge on Netflix or catch up on your vlog watching.

meal2

Cue my new money and time-saving habit of meal planning. We have a chalkboard in our kitchen that I use to write up our meals for the week ahead and I have to say it has been a revelation and here’s why:

  • Rather than scrabble around and try to create something out of my fridge contents, I really enjoy leafing through my recipe books to find new dishes I want to try out. This has a great knock-on effect for my blog too as it means I have one or two new recipes being tested out each week which I can share.
  • We have switched to doing one big weekly shop which is a great time saver and I think will turn out to be a good money saver too as all those little midweek trips to buy one ingredient always turns into a basket full of things we probably don’t need.
  • I’m not a particularly organised person so I feel a little smug when I look at my blackboard for the week and know exactly what we will be eating that week and what I need to cook each evening. It is a little piece of calm in an otherwise hectic routine!
  • We are wasting a lot less food with this new routine. Usually I have to bin a few veggies and bags of salad that have gone past their best without me realising but for the past few weeks, I haven’t had to do this which feels good as I hate food waste.

meal3

There are loads of meal planning apps online if you wanted to give this a go…I highly recommend it for a little foodie piece of mind! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

  2. Pingback: Cook Book Corner | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

