RSS Feed

Recipe – Easy Lemon Meringue Pies

Sometimes you want a really nice dessert but just don’t have the time/ ingredients/ inclination to make both pastry and lemon curd from scratch. Cue my super-easy lemon meringue pies using good quality but short-cut ingredients!

I bought the sweet pastry cases but would also buy a roll of ready-made pastry for this recipe too…it’s definitely OK to cheat when it comes to pastry. Lemon curd is one of my favourite things to spread on toast. I’ve never made it before but it looks pretty simple so I may give it a go in the near future. This time however I bought a jar and it worked perfectly for a quick and easy pudding.

DSCN0401

Ingredients

6 mini sweet pastry cases

6 generous teaspoons of lemon curd

1 egg white

50g of caster sugar

DSCN0402

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Fill each pastry case with a generous spoonful of lemon curd

DSCN0405

  • Whisk the egg white until stiff peaks have formed
  • Gradually add the sugar until the mixture is thick and glossy

DSCN0404

  • Spoon the meringue mixture onto the tarts – I like to use the back of a teaspoon to pull into little peaks

DSCN0406 DSCN0408

  • Bake for 6 – 8 minutes until the meringue has started to brown

IMG_0506

These looked and tasted great – they were quite light so would be perfect after a hearty Sunday roast! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

