RSS Feed

Beauty Review – November Birchbox

I am officially in cosy-mode now. Candles are burning, sofas have soft blankets draped over them and huge pies are being made and devoured!

IMG_0510 IMG_0504

So, when I saw this month’s Birchbox theme was ‘Cosy at Home’ I knew I would love it and I have to say the contents were pretty damn great.

DSCN0413 DSCN0428

Here was my first peek:

DSCN0414

I couldn’t help but notice the whopping great bottle of Dr Jart’s Turnover Booster, a lightweight serum that promises a hit of moisture. I really like this brand and was surprised to see this full-sized product which is worth £32! Now that it has got colder and the central heating is blasting, I am using a serum most nights and this will find a home on my bedside table.

DSCN0421

A funny item next, some Drinkwel mutlivitamins designed to help with the dreaded hangover. I think I will save this for the festive period when I overdo the mulled cider and champers! I’m not sure I’d ever buy this but I will report back if these capsules are any good.

DSCN0416

Next another brand I love: Weleda. There all-natural products always smell amazing and this Sea-Buckthorn Body Oil is no exception. I don’t use body oils regularly but I do sometimes put a few drops in a bath to up the moisture-factor.

DSCN0419

Another unusual inclusion comes in the form of this Lash Extender and Conditioner from Jane Iredale. This product will help lengthen and strengthen lashes before the application of mascara. I already think mascara is pretty amazing and I am loathe to add unnecessary steps to my morning beauty regime but I am always on the lookout for my next wonder product so will give it a whirl.

DSCN0423 DSCN0422

There are some brands that keep popping up in my Birchboxes and Beauty Protector is one of them. I quite like their hair products and this hair mask is right up my street, especially as there were two of them in the box in very cute tubs.

DSCN0424 DSCN0425

Finally, one more ‘wow’ item – a full sized OPI nail varnish (worth £12!) in a gorgeous vampy, deep purple shade. Part of a limited Coca Cola collection from one of my favourite nail brands, I gave a little squeal of excitement when I saw this!

DSCN0427

I know there is a move away from beauty boxes towards more ‘lifestyle’ boxes but I think Birchbox is going from strength to strength and this one in particular was amazing value.

Right, I’m off for a second helping of pie!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

