RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Comptoir Libanais, Duke of York Square, London

On a recent trip to London, Ian and I were caught in a bit of a downpour upon leaving the Saatchi Gallery so were looking for somewhere nearby to shelter and grab some lunch. I had my heart set on some Middle Eastern food from Ottolenghi’s but when I saw Comptoir Libanais just around the corner, I quickly switched my allegiances!

DSCN0320

Bright and welcoming, the colourful interior of the restaurant made a nice change from all the ‘trendy’ industrial-looking places that seem to keep popping up. If it wasn’t raining, I would have loved to sit on one of these floral seats outside!

DSCN0317DSCN0318

To drink, Ian opted for and arak mojito and I went for something more warming in the form of their famous rose mint tea; a blend of green tea, fresh mint, rose water and sugar. Served in a beautiful silver tea pot and little glass, this was delicious and reminded me of the mint tea I had on a rooftop in Morocco years ago.

IMG_0391

We decided on a tapas-like approach of several small dishes so that we could try a little bit of everything. Our main plate was the mezze platter for two which contained: baba ghanuj, hummus, tabbouleh, falafels, lentil salad, cheese sambousek, pickles and warm pitta bread…phew!

DSCN0322IMG_0388

This was delicious! Not being a fan of aubergine, I had never tried baba ghanuj before but this lovely, smoky dip, which was scattered with pomegranate seeds, may be my new favourite. The falafels and little cheese pastries were divine and the whole plate was just so fresh and vibrant.

DSCN0319

Ian felt he needed something meatier on the table too so we ordered some lamb kibbeh (little minced lamb and pine nut parcels) and some chicken wing specials in a spicy coating, both of which were served with the most moreish dips.

DSCN0323

After our mezze lunch, I fancied something sweet to finish off the rest of my tea so opted for a little platter of mixed baklawa. There was a lovely variety of pastries and fillings but I’m not sure which one was which to be able to say my favourite!

IMG_0394

Unfortunately, there isn’t a great selection of good Middle Eastern restaurants nearby us so the chance to try such a selection was a real treat! I love this way of dining; sharing and trying different combinations and wouldn’t hesitate to return to Comptois Libanais for a second helping.

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Love the colourful interior — interesting choice for a restaurant serving Middle Eastern fare. The chicken wings look delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

