RSS Feed

Recipe – Kale Chips

Hello from my sick bed aka the sofa. I have succumbed to my first cold of the winter so have brought my duvet and pillows downstairs, downloaded a series of Grey’s Anatomy and am riding it out in comfort!

I didn’t think I would have a chance to blog this week as the first week of term is always a bit manic as I find jobs I should have done over the holidays and generally try and get used to work again.

For today’s recipe, I had a go at making some kale chips…doesn’t every health kick start with some kale?! In an effort to eat more fruit and veg, I had a little look online for some recipes and realised I had never tried these. I know I’m a bit late to the game but I have a slight bone to pick with the name ‘kale chips’. To me, ‘chips’ evokes something warming, comforting and carb-loaded…these snacks are definitely not that! Maybe I should rename them kale crisps?!

DSCN0384

Anyway, they were really easy to make, are packed full of goodness and don’t make you feel as guilty as you do when you devour an entire share-pack of crisps! They remind me of crispy seaweed that you get from a Chinese restaurant and really did hit the spot when I was feeling peckish.

Ingredients

A pack of kale (I bought mine pre-chopped)

A drizzle of olive oil

A pinch of salt

A pinch of caster sugar

How to make it

DSCN0388

  • Preheat your oven to 220°C, Gas Mark 7 and line a baking tray with some greaseproof paper
  • In a large bowl, grab a handful of kale leaves and drizzle over some olive oil so they are very lightly coated
  • Add the salt and sugar and give it a toss
  • Arrange your leaves in a single layer on the baking tray

DSCN0389

  • Bake for around 5 minutes until crispy (the amount of time will depend on your oven)

DSCN0392

  • Repeat until the whole bag of kale has been transformed into ‘chips’ and enjoy

IMG_0483

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Oh WOW! Your kale chips look absolutely GLORIOUS. Really loving the addition of a little sugar. I absolutely agree with you on the health kick routine – you can’t go wrong starting with some good ol’ kale! I hope it helped with your recovery! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

