RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #61 – An Autumnal Haul

There is a little bit of everything in this post – some of the pieces are not particularly autumnal but I was struggling for a title! These are basically the bits and pieces I have bought over the past few weeks along with some Christmas gifts too.

First up an ASOS order. Yes, I was tempted by their 70% off email and managed to get some end of summer bargains to put away for next year.

First up, a flower-print dress because lord knows I need another one! I like these ASOS skater dresses and have a few different prints. I really like the fact that the arms on this are a little longer than a normal short-sleeved dress. I plan on wearing this with tights and boots this winter (it’s November so I am officially using the ‘w’ word)

DSCN0347 DSCN0348

Next, a rather painful entry as I had to send this one back for being too big and they don’t have a smaller size! I really like the brand Pull&Bear and this pretty lace dress was reduced to £6.50 from almost £25. Although it is lace, it isn’t a light, floaty summery dress but rather a thick, brocade-style lace detail which would have been lovely to wear over the festive period. I’m keeping my eyes peeled just in case they restock my size!

DSCN0349 DSCN0350 DSCN0351

A new brand for me now and a total bargain. This beautiful pale pink scarf adorned with peace symbols is from cool Danish label Becksondergaard and was reduced from £33 to £4. It’s a gorgeous soft, lightweight cotton material and is the perfect length and size.

DSCN0352

Something I plan to put away for next summer is this straw hat, reduced to a fiver. My current straw hat is looking a bit battered so I have upgraded. This is simple, has a pretty plaited tie around the base of the hat and is perfect for keeping the sun off my head.

DSCN0359 DSCN0358 DSCN0357

A bit of bling next. Las Vegas will always hold a place in my heart and what better way to remember our wedding there than a Vegas necklace?! I love charm necklaces and I will get a lot of wear out of this.

DSCN0360

Finally, I always have a quick look at the Beauty pages on ASOS and I was pleased to see several Apocalips lip glosses reduced. I love this release from Rimmel and opted for Across the Universe, a deep red which is very wearable at this time of year.

DSCN0355

I also nipped into Primark when I was in Bath recently with the sole aim of picking up a few more tops. First of all, I found this floral and striped number. It is made from a sheer material but looks great layered up and is a bit different from my usual Breton-style tops.

DSCN0361

Next, I picked up another colour of their ‘distressed’ t-shirt. I have a few shades of this style and they are the perfect length – I love wearing mine for my Pilates class. I’m not usually a pink girl but I think the bleached, distressed look hardens it slightly.

DSCN0362 DSCN0363

Finally, some more colour in the form of this mint green lace t-shirt. I also have this in white (are you sensing a theme here?!) and wear it a lot so this green one will be a nice alternative.

DSCN0364 DSCN0365

Last up, I bought some beauty bits from Marks and Spencer. Have you perused this section of Marks ‘n’ Sparks lately?! They have some pretty awesome stuff in there and a great selection of brands. This time however I stuck to their own brands and picked up a blusher and two eyeshadows.

DSCN0369

The blusher is from Limited Collection in the shade Apricot. This is a pinky matte blusher in some very pretty animal print packaging. If I was being really picky then I would say that the formula is ever so slightly chalky but as long as you don’t get too much product on your blush and blend it in well then you’d never know.

DSCN0367 DSCN0368

From the Autograph range, I bought two eyeshadows in Peach and Olive. These two satin shades have a lovely shimmer and are very blendable. I am so used to using eyeshadow palettes that it feels a real treat to buy individual shades!

DSCN0371 DSCN0372

The pinky shade is a perfect everyday nude for me that I would tend to wear as a base colour. The golden shade is beautiful once applied to the eyes; a real antique gold.

DSCN0374IMG_0455

Both single shadows come with a mirror and applicator although I prefer to apply these with brushes so I can blend them in easier.

IMG_0457

I don’t have much from M&S but after seeing the range in their beauty hall, I will definitely be back for more.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

