RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – DF Mexico, Shoreditch

On a recent mini-break to London, Ian and I looked to our hip London friends (yes Cat and Lucie, that’s you!) for some restaurant recommendations. Neither of them have let me down yet and this choice was a good’un too!

DSCN0284

Located near Spitalfields market and part of the Wahaca group, DF Mexico offers fresh ‘New York-style’ Mexican food. I really liked the interior of this place. I believe it is housed in an old brewery and it definitely had that industrial factory feel to it.

DSCN0280

After we had been shown to our booth and perused the menu, it was time to order. This is a kind of self-service restaurant where you go up and enter your food requests onto a screen and collet your drinks. I didn’t mind doing this too much as it was a casual mid-week dinner but it doesn’t really make your dining experience feel as much of a treat as good waitress service can.

DSCN0289

I opted for a raspberry and hibiscus frozen margarita which was sharp, fruity and refreshing. Ian had the original and enjoyed the lime and tequila kick too.

DSCN0290

Despite ordering at pretty much the same time, our food didn’t all arrive together which meant we had to find a member of staff and have a moan…the sassy side of me would say this probably wouldn’t happen with decent waitress service but there you go!

However, once the food was on the table, it was really good. We shared some veggie nachos which came piled high with tortilla chips, guacamole, salsa, refried beans, cheese sour cream and some lovely pink pickled onions. I could have devoured the whole tray myself!

DSCN0291

I have a weakness for fish tacos and these panko-covered cod tacos were incredible. Served with a red slaw and chipotle mayonnaise, the balance of flavours and textures were perfect. I had some red rice on the side which was fine but nothing special.

DSCN0293

My dining companions tried the burrito (huge and stuffed to bursting), burgers (more of the same) with a variety of sides and all agreed this was pretty good Mexican fare and well-priced too.

I have to compare this place to my absolute favourite London Mexican restaurant, Wahaca, and I don’t think DF Mexico is going to take that title yet. Whilst the food was amazing, the menu was pretty standard Mexican fare and I wasn’t a huge fan of the self-service ordering system. Saying that, we quite often pop to Spitalfields market for a wander when in London, and I would definitely head back to DF Mexico for a bite to eat and a few margaritas! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Those nachos look amazing. I’ve not heard of fish nachos before!

    India / Touchscreens & Beautyqueens

    Reply

Leave a Reply

