RSS Feed

This Week’s Nails – An Alexa Heart Dupe

Seeing as today is the last proper day of my half term break, I am in a get-stuff-done mood. I have already done a Pilates session, painted a wall, washed my hair, been to the doctors, picked up a prescription and been food shopping for the week all before midday – phew!

I keep my ear to the ground for any new and exciting beauty releases and had a good nosy at Alexa Chung’s recent offerings for Nails Inc, one of my favourite nail brands. The top coats all looked lovely but at about £15 a bottle, they aren’t cheap for a glitter topcoat.

 

heart2

I nipped in to my local Poundland recently and noticed a dupe for the heart topcoat that is getting a lot of love at the moment. Seeing as it was only a pound, I thought I may as well give it a try and as I was about to pay I noticed a new nail varnish stand stocking ‘Jess’ products. I have to admit I hadn’t heard of this brand before but decided to pick up two shades; a fiery red (matador) and a creamy blue (swan lake).

heart1

I tried out matador first of all. My first impressions weren’t great – the formula was very thin and patchy and I needed three coats for opacity. However, after a bit of effort, I did really like the shade and it had a nice glossy finish to it.

heart3 heart4

Now for the hearts! This bottle contains metallic gold hearts in a red tinted gloss. Part of me through that it would be better in a clear gloss as the red did affect the gold colour of the hearts. Rather than end up with a thick layer of the coloured gloss on my nails, I dabbed the brush onto a piece of paper and picked out the hearts with some tweezers before placing them on my nails.

heart5

The hearts were slightly raised on the nail but a few generous layers of topcoat smoothed these down and I think the finished look is quite effective.

heart6heart7

I was slightly less pleased with the staying power of the Jess nail varnish. It chipped dreadfully within a few days and my manicure didn’t last the week. I haven’t tried the swan lake shade yet but I am hoping it performs slightly better!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

