RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #59 – Vintage Furniture

It has been a perfect autumnal day today. We met our good friends and their gorgeous baby Ivy for a wander around Frome’s amazing monthly market where we ate brownies, drank cider and bought lots of good cheese!

lp6 lp11

Being at the market and seeing all the lovely second-hand, up-cycled and reupholstered furniture for sale made me want to share our recent purchases from the September Frome market now we have found places for them in our home.

frome12 frome13 frome14

First up, we found this lovely wooden chest in a beautiful grey-green shade.

We decided to use it as a coffee table and it is a lovely focal point in the living room with an added bonus of storage inside!

lp1 lp9 lp10

Next, my vintage wooden ladder bought (after some haggling!) from a very friendly Frenchman.

I love the texture of the wood in this piece but wanted it to be useful as well…

lp2 lp3

Cue my new scarf holder! As you can see, I have a hoard of scarves which were kept in a cupboard and I have to admit to not really knowing what colours I actually had.

lp5

Now, they are easy to see and reach for and add a pop of colour to the room.

The ladder is currently in my bedroom but I am thinking of moving it into the hallway as I would usually grab a scarf just as I am leaving the house.

Are you a fan of vintage furniture? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

