RSS Feed

Recipe – Pear, Cherry and Walnut Chocolate Tart

Hello and Happy Sunday!

It’s a glorious day here. Ian is off on a run so I have all morning to myself to potter, blog and read the papers…heavenly.

Today’s recipe was a slightly rushed and experimental job but one that tasted divine! Ian and I had a friend over for dinner last week and I had done most of the prep the night before meaning I could just pop home from work, heat up the food and not spend the evening flapping about in the kitchen. To make life easier for myself, I had even bought a pudding and was all ready to go when an hour before our guest arrived, I decided that I would make a dessert from scratch…why do I do these things to myself!

pear5

This chocolate tart is the result of my madness and was rather tasty, if a little sweet due to the glace cherries (luckily I have inherited my mother’s ridiculously sweet tooth!). Think of gooey chocolate brownie, with sweet poached pears and the crunch of nuts all in a crumbly biscuit base. I think if I made this next time, I would try it without the cherries and possibly swap the walnuts for hazelnuts…I’m getting excited just typing that!

Now, I cannot continue without pointing out my massive baking error which will become apparent when you see the pictures below. I started baking my pastry case with baking beans inside and forgot to set the timer. I thought enough time had passed to remove the beans but it most definitely hadn’t which caused the baking beans to leave a lovely imprint on the inside of my pastry case! You definitely couldn’t taste this error (and I think it actually looked very cool!) but nevertheless, I will know for next time!

pear7

Ingredients

1 packet of shortcrust pastry

3 pears, cored, peeled and halved

100g of caster sugar

100ml of water

A piece of orange peel

40g of good quality dark chocolate

30g of butter

150g of golden syrup

1 egg

Half a teaspoon of vanilla extract

50g of walnuts

50g of glace cherries

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 6
  • Roll out your pastry and line your pie tin
  • Tip in your baking beans and bake for 10 minutes or so then set aside to cool
  • Next, poach your pears by putting half the sugar, the water and orange rind in to a small panpear12
  • Add the pears and bring to the boil before simmering for about 10 minutes then drain and allow the pears to cool
  • Melt your chocolate either in the microwave or in a bowl over a pan of simmering water
  • Add the butter and mix wellpear13
  • In another pan (quite a bit of washing up involved with this recipe! Sorry!) heat the remaining sugar and golden syrup until the sugar has melted and simmer for 2-3 minutespear6
  • Whisk your egg into the chocolate mixture, then add the syrup, vanilla extract, nuts and cherries
  • Lay your cooled pears on to the pastry basepear1
  • Pour over the chocolate mixturepear2
  • Bake for 25 minutes and enjoy!pear3
About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

