RSS Feed

Weekends at the Seaside

It was another good food-filled weekend round these parts. Ian and I headed to Minehead for the annual Ale and Cider Festival and to start his 30th birthday celebrations. We try to go most years as we can stay with my parents and not have to worry about a designated driver – ideal!

Held at Minehead train station, this little festival has grown over the years since we started going and it was packed when we arrived on Saturday afternoon. We sampled a few ales and ciders and enjoyed the sunshine sat alongside the train tracks. I loved some of the ale names – my particular favourite this year was ‘Brew Springsteen’ and who doesn’t love a good beer pun?!

ale6 ale8 ale9

We had a little beer break to go and eat at my Dad’s new restaurant (review coming soon!) but popped back along that evening for a night cap or two. There were live bands playing old school metal which we loved and it was such a good atmosphere – we’re already looking forward to next year!

Today we had a lazy morning, a spot of shopping and then just had time to watch my brother play (and win!) in his tennis final before driving home.

ale10

 

I have a super busy week ahead with meetings, courses, birthdays and house guests as well as the usual craziness of teaching so posts may be slightly sporadic as I try to fit in work and sleep!

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a comment