RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #58 – Birchbox Freebies

I have been receiving my monthly Birchbox for over a year now and filling out the occasional questionnaire on the products they send. All of these have earned me Birchbox ‘points’ which had been piling up in my account and a big chunk of them were due to expire so I thought it was time to cash them in!

I had a quick browse through the Birchbox shop and picked enough goodies to get free delivery which meant I only had to contribute 84p for over £30 worth of stuff.

Here are the four things I picked:

bb1

First up an old favourite that was on my repurchase list anyway: Weleda Skin Food. I first tried this in a Birchbox and loved it. This whole body cream is a bit of a wonder product, kind of like Elizabeth Arden’s 8 Hour Cream but with a better smell! I have used this on dry skin patches, my lips and mostly as a night cream when my skin needed a moisture boost. Weleda uses lots of natural ingredients and plant extracts so it’s a bonus to know you aren’t piling on the chemicals.

bb4

Next, I was in the market for a new face scrub and this one popped up on the Bestsellers page which persuaded me! I bought the Radiance Exfoliating Face Polish by Urban Veda which claims to brighten and balance your skin tone whilst exfoliating. It smells amazing too, containing superfruits such as Goji berries and papaya.

bb2

Next, I wanted a new bronzer to keep my holiday glow going for as long as possible and I had heard good things about the Model Co one. This comes in a sleek pink palette with a mirror which is always handy. The powder has a lovely gold shimmer and isn’t too dark for my pale complexion. Although it is a pressed powder, there is almost something creamy about it when I ran my fingers across it which makes me think it could be good for an eyeshadow too. I really like this bronzer and am keen to try a few more things from the brand.

bb6 bb7 bb8

Finally, I was about 20p short of free delivery so I popped a packet of this popcorn into my bag by ProperCorn. I had this flavour (Sweet Coconut and Vanilla) in a Birchbox a few months ago and thought it was delicious so I will enjoy this larger bag even more!

bb5

I know some people think beauty boxes such as Birchbox have had their day, and there always seems to be a new company coming on to the market, but for me I still love my monthly Birchbox and the fact that they reward loyalty in this way is pretty fab too.

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

