RSS Feed

Before and After – Our Bedroom

My latest labour of love in our house has been the redecoration of our bedroom. I can’t quite believe how long we lived with such hideous décor but suffice to say waking up in our new room is a much more calming experience than before. Let me show you what I mean…

Firstly, every wall was a different colour and/ or texture.

Wall number one was covered in turquoise metallic paint, complete with visible brush strokes where the previous owners did such an awful job.

bed19 bed20

The next wall was adorned with a rather loud and slightly metallic (sensing a theme here?!) flower wallpaper.

bed12 bed13

Then we had a bolder turquoise coloured wall (hmmmm, did someone say the word ‘clash’?!)

bed11

And finally, the fourth wall which did contain a long set of fitted drawers (which we removed) and the old double glazing which was a horrible criss-crossed square design, blocking out the stunning view of the fields we get from our room.

bed21 bed25bed18

The first thing we had to do was to remove all the previous screws and nails that had been left in the walls…the previous owners were big fans of shelving EVERYWHERE!

Can you guess which one I did and which one Ian attempted? Who said you need a man for DIY?!

bed17

After these holes had been filled and sanded it was time for the white paint. I called in reinforcements in the shape of my Mum and we spent about 4-5 days on this makeover.

bed15

I used a steamer to remove the old wallpaper then we set to work trying to cover up all the turquoise. Nobody tells you how difficult metallic paint or dark turquoise is to cover up but it took us about 5-6 coats on the walls!!!

bed6bed14 bed7

Then we painted the cornices, sanded and glossed the skirting boards and I sanded and repainted the radiator.

bed2

My plan was to just get the whole room painted white and then decide on a colour scheme (Ian is colour blind so paint decisions all fall to me!) It may have been the fact that we had lived in such a colourful room for so long but as soon as the room was white, I just knew that I wanted to keep it like this. It was clean, crisp and fresh and felt almost peaceful which is exactly what I wanted from our bedroom.

However, with our all-white furniture, it did border on slightly stark and clinical so I decided that I would introduce colour with the bedding, art and accessories. This would also mean that should our tastes change in the future, we can simply change the colour scheme easily too.

I was inspired by this piece of art for our colour scheme. There is something about it that is so fun and quirky plus it reminds me of our first trip to New York where we did in fact do a great hop-on/ hop-off bus tour! Once I had decided on this grey and yellow scheme, I decided to invest in a few key pieces to bring bursts of colour to the room.

bed40

I love this geometric grey and yellow bedding set. I usually like much prettier, floral designs but I felt this was more unisex and not too girly for Ian.

bed3

We also bought new chests of drawers and bedside tables (which prompted a huge spring clean of our clothes and several bin bags donated to charity shops!)

On our bedside tables, I found these cool yellow lamps. I know they are desk lamps but I kind of like that industrial look and breaking the rules!

bed4

In our kitchen cupboards, we had these cute yellow saucers which I decided to rehome in our bedroom for loose change, jewellery and those kinds of bits and bobs.

bed28 bed29

Ikea also had this cool yellow lantern which looks rather nice on our window sill.

bed32bed41

The finishing touches were the grey chair I upcycled, the picture that inspired the colour scheme and a couple more grey prints.

bed30bed31

As always, this isn’t the finished product for me. We still need blinds to be put up, some more art and a carpet or rug too but I am really happy with how our room turned out. Instead of being a chaotic and mismatched place we crashed out in, it is now our sanctuary where we sleep, relax and watch endless Netflix series with tea and cake!

bed33 bed34 bed35 bed36 bed37 bed39

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

8 responses »

  1. fortheloveofgloss

    This is absolutely stunning! You’ve done a marvelous job!

    Reply
  2. Lovely! Much better with the revamp 🙂 Looks more spacious.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Dinosaur Bedding Create Kids Bedroom Fantasy - Choose My Room

  4. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

  5. Pingback: A Splash of Colour | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

