RSS Feed

Recipe – Tuna and Mixed Bean Salad

This week, my mind has been on back-to-school matters and my thoughts soon turned to food (obviously!) and more specifically my lunches. Now, I’m partial to the odd sarnie but taking in sandwiches every day can soon get very dull and so I am always looking for ways to keep my lunches healthy and interesting.

When we were in Majorca earlier this month, I tried a delicious tuna and bean salad and was determined to try and make my own version when we got home. Despite it being a salad, there are actually quite a few store-cupboard ingredients which means that it is something you can make even when you’re running a bit low on the fresh stuff.

tuna5

I really love this simple recipe as it’s colourful, fresh and full of different flavours and textures – one of those meals where every mouthful is different. As always, feel free to add or omit certain ingredients – I am planning on adding some cherry tomatoes, green olives and diced cucumber to my next batch, simply because that’s what I have in the fridge!

tuna3

Ingredientstuna6

1 tin of tuna

1 can of mixed beans (mine included chickpeas, soya beans, black eyed beans, pinto beans, kidney beans and aduki beans)

1 small can of sweetcorn

1 small jar of black olives, sliced

1 small jar of cornichons or gherkins, roughly chopped

2 tablespoons of capers

1 red pepper, diced

Half an onion, finely chopped

Salt and pepper

A drizzle of olive oil

Mayonnaise (optional)

How to make it

  • This is a real ‘throw it all in a bowl’ kind of recipe! Drain, chop and mix your ingredients together in a large mixing bowltuna8
  • Season well with salt and pepper, drizzle over some olive oil and if you want, add a few tablespoons of mayonnaise

It really is that simple! I plan on making a big bowl of this on Sunday night to see me through the first few days of school.

tuna1

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

  2. Pingback: Sunday Summary #33 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

