RSS Feed

A Spot of Upcycling

I popped in to school yesterday to start getting my classroom in order for the start of term. It made me realise just how quickly these summer holidays have gone by but also how much I have managed to squeeze in to them – 2 holidays, many catch-ups with friends, days out and (with the help of my lovely Mum) I managed to finish redecorating two rooms in our house…not too bad!

I have to admit that the novelty of owning a house and being able to redecorate it has kind of worn off now I have realised what hard work it is. However, once the more demanding jobs of sanding, prepping and painting the walls are done, I can move onto the part I love; filling the rooms with the perfect accessories!

Obviously there are some things we had to buy, such as new carpets and bedding, but I love looking around the house at pieces of furniture and items we already have to see if they would work in a new space. I managed to find a new home for our striped armchair in the hallway and am always moving pictures and pieces of artwork around the place.

hall59

There were two specific items I needed to finish off our entrance hall and bedroom and they were a telephone table and a chair. Luckily, I had two unloved and unused pieces around the house which would be perfect once they had had a lick of paint and it would also save me the time and money of having to source them new.

The table was an old coffee table we had in our last flat which was a rather boring pine colour and had been moved from room to room since we moved as I tried to find a place for it.

up7

The chair was a really basic one from IKEA. Again, we bought it as a set of 4 in our old flat but I have since been given some nicer ones by my parents so this one was living in the spare bedroom underneath a pile of blankets.

up6

I began by giving both items a good sanding down with some sandpaper. This helped to get rid of any grease and grime and also gives the primer something to grip onto.

up8

Once sanded, I gave the table and chair a wipe over with a damp cloth to remove any excess dust or powder.

The next step was to paint on a couple of layers of wood primer. I used white for both pieces as it’s a good base even if you are going to paint a different colour on top.

up9 up10

The table then received two layers of white gloss and I also removed the old plastic feet that were attached. If you look really closely, you will probably see a few brush strokes but I don’t mind that it isn’t completely perfect!

up3 up4 up5

I wanted the chair to be a matte grey so I actually used some of the paint we had left over from decorating the hallway. This worked really well and was the exact shade I wanted.

up1

And here are the two items of furniture in their new homes…

The telephone table looks great in the hallway and is a handy place to put keys and post when you come through the door.

hall53 hall52 hall46

The chair is in our newly decorated bedroom and is handy for leaving clothes on although I am determined it won’t become hidden underneath things I can’t be bothered to put away!

up2

I’ve just realised that this post kind of sounds like we have several spare rooms full of lovely furniture…we really don’t! Nevertheless, I do think that when you decorate, your first stop shouldn’t be the internet to buy new stuff – just have a quick look around the house for any bits and bobs that could be upcycled or even just moved to another room to save you a bit of time and money.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

