RSS Feed

Beauty Review – August Birchbox

…which I have actually gotten around to reviewing in August this time!

This month’s Birchbox theme is ‘Away We Go’ with a focus on those summer getaways. I think this is a relevant theme for the month of August and I found that I took several of my Birchbox ‘minis’ when we went away recently.

Here was my first peek at the contents…

box1

Straight away, you’ll notice that instead of the usual drawstring bag, there is a handy clear plastic make-up bag. This is ideal for travelling and I will definitely keep this safe for the next time we fly.

box3

First up, a cream eyeshadow by Wild About Beauty. I had heard of this range as I know Louise Rednapp is one of the founders and I love this product. I received the shade Matilda, an antique gold colour which is exactly the kind of shade I would have chosen myself. This has a nice satin finish and you can build up the colour easily.

box11 box10

Next, a ProGenius Treatment Oil from Nude. I don’t currently use a facial oil but as it seems summer is all but over, I think this will be a great skin saviour against the cold and central heating.

box8

I am already using a product by Number 4 from a previous Birchbox but this Super Comb Prep and Protect is a leave-in conditioner and detangler which is perfect for my hair type.

box7

The hype over CC creams has died down now but I still like to try different ones and I like the fact I got two of these little tubes so you can get a few decent applications from them. This CC Cream from Supergoop! has an SPF of 35 and claims to smooth fine lines and even out skin tone.

box5

Next, the BrightenUp! Face Rejuvenator from Vasanti. This is an exfoliator which smells lovely and doesn’t appear to be too abrasive on my skin either.

box4

Finally, the ‘little extra’ from Birchbox this month comes in the form of Chapter One of The Proposal, a novel by Tasmina Perry. I’m not sure what I think about this inclusion to be honest. I am an avid reader but there is no way I could just read one chapter of a book then put it down which is such an easy way to get me to buy the whole novel! I currently have a stack of books to work my way through so I may put this to one side until I am feeling bereft of good reads!

box2

On the whole, I am really pleased with this month’s offerings. I will definitely use all of the products and there is a good mix of hair, beauty and make-up items.

I also noticed that in my Birchbox account, I had about £30 accumulated in points from my monthly orders and reviews and a chunk of it was about to expire so I managed to pick up four lovely beauty items from their shop for the grand total of 84p!!!

box6

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

