RSS Feed

Recipe – Chocolate, Cherry and Banana Bread

Rainy weather like we are experiencing today calls for comfy clothes (preferably pyjamas!), good TV and lots of tea and cake.

I was facing that age-old problem of what to do with some rather sorry-looking bananas when I decided to make some banana bread with a twist. I love this cake – it always turns out really moist and you can kind of kid yourself that it is somewhat healthy because it has some fruit in it!

bb2

Banana bread also works well with lots of different flavours and the twist I went for this time came in the form of dark chocolate chips and some glace cherries. This is delicious eaten whilst still slightly warm with the choc chips still melted but equally delicious for breakfast the next day like Ian and I did this morning!

bb13

Ingredients

125g of butter or margarine at room temperature

250g of golden caster sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

250g of plain flour

2 teaspoons of baking powder

4 ripe bananas, mashed with a fork

100g of dark chocolate chips

100g of glace cherries (I bought halved ones but you can buy whole ones and roughly chop them)

A generous pinch of granulated sugar

How to make it

  • Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4 and greasing your loaf tin
  • Cream together the butter and sugar until smoothbb4
  • Add the eggs one at a time and combine
  • Next, add the vanilla extract
  • Now add the flour and baking powder and mix well
  • Stir in the mashed bananasbb5
  • Finally, stir in the chocolate chips and cherry pieces (I like to do this final step by hand rather than using my Kitchen Aid)bb6
  • Pour the mixture into your loaf tin and give it a few bangs on your kitchen counter to knock any excess air out of itbb7
  • Next, sprinkle on a good pinch of granulated sugar to give your loaf a lovely crunchy top
  • Bake for around 50 minutes until golden brown then leave to coolbb8
  • Enjoy it warm or cooled and if you’re feeling really indulgent, top with some chocolate spread

bb12

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing this !!! 🙂 looks so good

    Reply
  2. Yummy! I love making banana bread, my boys like it with raspberries or blueberries in x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

