RSS Feed

Before and After – Hallway and Landing

Hello! I am very excited to finally share the makeover that has taken place in our hallway over the past few months. It is the first area you see when you walk through the front door so I was sick of it looking so shabby and being a dumping ground for all our bags and work stuff.

I have to admit that I didn’t do this one single-handedly. We used a painter and decorator for the bulk of the job and although I am usually a DIY advocate, I didn’t fancy balancing precariously on ladders painting the high ceilings in our hallway! We used Martin from here and I can’t recommend him enough. He was prompt, friendly, and really tidy and the finished result was excellent – definitely better than what I could have managed in a week.

Anyway, as always here some of the ‘before’ pics…

As you can see the bannisters were worn, chipped and painted with a horrible brown fake-wood effect:

hall1 hall2

The walls were a nondescript pale blue colour with some peeling swirly wallpaper thrown in for good measure:

hall3hall7

The previous owners seemed to love painting the skirting boards and coving in different colours and here you can see the blue shade they picked out…in my opinion these should always always always be white!

The carpet was worn and patterned and the doors on the landing were a grubby brown colour with really ugly handles:

hall5 hall6

We did start the decorating job ourselves by trying to remove decades worth of paint from the bannisters – I think we counted over 7 different layers!

hall4

This was really slow work for us and so messy…

hall10 hall11 hall12 hall16

Ultimately, it came to an end when I was hanging almost upside down over the bannisters with the heat gun trying to address the underside of the hand rail when my hair got caught up in the motor of the heat gun and promptly fused it – whoops!

hall8

We also had a new front door fitted, new double glazed windows and had a wall replastered before we started decorating – I’ve always wanted a red front door and I love ours!

hall18 hall19 hall21 hall22 hall23

As soon as we called in Martin, I realised the different between my version of DIY and a professional’s! He got to work stripping the old paint off the bannisters in a few days and prepping the doors, walls, skirting boards and coving.

hall24 hall25 hall26 hall27 hall28

I decided to go for grey on the walls. At first I wanted an off-white grey but then decided that against white woodwork, I wanted a darker colour so opted for Soft Shadow by Crown, a sort of purple-toned grey which was not too dark yet contrasted against the white. I have to admit I was unsure when the first coat went on (I thought it might be a bit too dark) but now I love it and we have enough windows so that the hallway always feels bright.

hall29 hall30 hall31 hall32

When Martin finished, it was time for the fun part – shopping for accessories and customising some furniture!

We had a new grey carpet fitted which is so soft and springy

hall33 hall34hall36hall70

To tie in with the red front door and to add a pop of colour, I chose this statement lampshade from IKEA

hall35 hall66

On the windowsill of the landing, I added three succulents in pretty pots

hall64

I hung the print I bought for Ian on our first wedding anniversary

hall39hall62

Martin also attached vintage-style door handles to all of the doors upstairs

hall67 hall68

I thought for a long time about the entrance hall as I wanted it to look really good when you first walk through the door.

hall58

My Mum and I painted this radiator cover white to match the woodwork.

hall54 hall55hall57

Above this Ian hung a new mirror, which I thought looked quite vintage

hall41 hall42hall56

I also upcycled an old coffee table into a white telephone table

hall46hall52hall53

I had a bit of a dilemma about how to hide all the gadgets and wires but a white storage box did the trick!

hall43 hall44 hall45

We also hung our silver antlers coat hanger (a present I bought Ian for Christmas) near our stag…I think we have a thing about deer and antlers!

hall47 hall49 hall50 hall51

Finally, our striped chair (which we didn’t quite know where to put) adds a finishing touch and makes it look a bit more homely and cosy.

hall59 hall60 hall61

Et voila! From old, tired and dated blue to modern, clean and fresh grey and white. I don’t think a room is ever ‘finished’ as I am constantly adding bits and bobs to different spaces but this is finished enough for me to share it and I love walking through the front door to see how it has all come together!

hall69

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. fortheloveofgloss

    This all looks amazing! Love the stag details, and the red door!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

