RSS Feed

Our Birthday/ Anniversary Camping Trip!

We got home last night from the most amazing and relaxing mini-break camping along the Dorset coastline. Ian surprised me with the trip for my 29th birthday (last year in my twenties….aargh!)then it was our first wedding anniversary the next day so it seemed right to spend a few days together away from the daily grind of home, laundry and work!

camp19

I started the day with my favourite almond croissants from Bertinet Bakery in Bath. If you ever get the chance then just buy one and thank me later! Ian had paid for me the day before to get my hair cut and coloured but he also surprised me with a little black box…

camp27 camp28 camp29

…the boy did good this year! (FYI Nars Orgasm blusher is the most beautiful item of make-up I own…review coming soon!)

Anyway, we packed up the car and set off to Osmington, a little village just outside Weymouth. We have stayed here before and love the views on the campsite and the great pubs nearby. When we arrived, we put up the tent, slapped on the sunscreen and enjoyed a picnic in the sunshine.

camp24 camp31

As it was my birthday, we brought a few cocktails too!

camp32 camp34

That evening, I was treated to minty lamb burgers, cooked on our little gas stove before heading out to our favourite pub, The Smugglers, to watch the sunset and have a few birthday beers.

camp1camp16camp35camp20camp18camp36

The next day was our first wedding anniversary. As you know, we headed off to Vegas to say our ‘I Dos’ and this year has flown by! (You can read about our special day here!) Traditionally, you give paper gifts on your first wedding anniversary so I bought Ian a cool print of Bath Pubs (I think he sees this more as a ‘to do’ list!) and he got me some lovely things from Paperchase.

camp5

We enjoyed a fry up by the tent in the morning before heading to the beach. We stopped off at Chesil Beach, an 18 mile long lagoon for a spot of sunbathing and a picnic before driving on to Lulworth Cove for ice-creams (my Turkish Delight flavour was amazing!) and a dip in the sea.

camp38camp12 camp13camp39 camp14

That evening we got our glad rags on and went back to The Smugglers for cocktails in the sun followed by a great meal (I’m going to write a separate restaurant review about this)

camp15 camp22

We woke up the next morning to the pitter patter of rain on the tent at about 5am. For some, this may be your nightmare camping scenario but I love that feeling of being snuggled up inside while you can hear the rain outside! It wasn’t really that heavy and within a few hours we were back to glorious sunshine again.

That night, we had booked a table for Mat Follas’ (from Masterchef) new restaurant in Dorchester and enjoyed the most amazing 6 course taster menu. Mat came out to chat to the guests too and it was lovely to hear about the food and how locally everything was sourced.

camp4

On our last full day, we headed to Weymouth beach for a few hours of sunshine. It has a traditional seaside promenade although we sat slightly away from all the fairground rides and arcades. My highlight of this day was definitely our lunch on the beach…scampi for me, battered cod for Ian and a huge portion of vinegar-soaked chips to share!

camp10 camp9camp41camp42

We spent our last night at the campsite enjoying the sunset and my rather tasty one pot chicken curry and rice…slightly different from the decadence the night before but just as tasty nonetheless!

camp2

We went old-school and played a few card games then had hot chocolates and marshmallows in our sleeping bags – an absolutely perfect end to a great mini-break!

camp3

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. Lovely review Han, Happy Anniversary! Crystal, Piero, Toby and I are looking to go camping in a few weeks and this looks like a great spot!! xox

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

