RSS Feed

Recipe – Mushroom, Leek and Gruyère Quiche

Finally, the school holidays are here! It was an emotional last week of term with lots of goodbyes, a rather horrible car accident (my poor Smart car is currently off being repaired…fingers crossed it returns in one piece!) and a classroom move in this sweltering heat, but I made it and am already feeling very much in holiday mode.

quiche1 quiche2

It was strange last night not to get the usual ‘Sunday night feeling’ but I do have lots of things planned for the summer holidays so will definitely not get bored!

quiche3

So far we have had several meals outside, started work on a new area of the garden, drank Pimms from my new cocktail dispenser and I managed to burn my knees!

quiche9 quiche14 quiche16 quiche17

We also had Ian’s parents and George to stay this weekend so I tried out a new quiche recipe on them. This is the perfect time of year for quiche – it is tasty warm or chilled and throw on a bit of salad and you’ve got yourself a lovely summery lunch.

quiche4 quiche7

Ingredients

1 pack of shortcrust pastry (it was too hot to make it from scratch!)

A good glug of olive oil

3 leeks, sliced

1 tray of chestnut mushroom, sliced

Salt and pepper

A pinch of dried thyme

2 eggs

284ml of double cream

200g of Gruyère cheese, grated

How to make it

  • Begin by rolling out your pastry on a floured surface so that it fits your quiche dishDSCN0164
  • Using your rolling pin, lay the pastry over the dish (I usually grease mine first too) and use some leftover pastry scraps to gently push it into the edges of the dishDSCN0165
  • Chill the pastry case in the fridge for about half an hour and meanwhile preheat your oven to 200°C, Gas Mark 5
  • While the pastry is chilling, fry your leeks in oil for about 10 minutes then add the mushrooms and sauté for another 5 minutes
  • Season with salt and pepper and add a pinch of thymeDSCN0169
  • Once the leeks and mushrooms have softened, set the pan aside and allow to cool
  • Get your pastry case and lightly prick the base with a forkDSCN0166
  • Line with greaseproof paper then fill with baking beansDSCN0167
  • Blind bake your pastry for 20 minutes before removing the paper and beans
  • Cook for another 5-10 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown
  • In a separate jug, beat together the eggs and cream
  • Pour this mixture over the leeks and mushrooms and mix wellDSCN0170
  • Add half the Gruyère cheese and tip this filling into the pastry caseDSCN0173
  • Top with the remaining cheeseDSCN0174
  • Bake for 25 minutes until the quiche has set and is golden brownDSCN0175
  • I usually trim off the excess pastry tooquiche8

o   Enjoy warm or chilled!DSCN0181

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

