RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Bob Bob Ricard, London

It was my first day back in the land of the living today after a few days off and I’m feeling shattered. I think tonight calls for a big helping of pasta bake followed by my sofa and some good TV!

Today’s post is a review of where we ate when Ian and I went to London a few weekends ago to stay with my friend Cat. Whenever we see each other, whether it’s here in Bath or in London, we always try to find somewhere new and a bit different to try out and this time it was Bob Bob Ricard.

I tried to avoid my usual menu stalking but I was intrigued by the Russian-English fusion and couldn’t wait to try it! We arrived and were seated downstairs in one of the booths with our very own champagne call button. It was very opulent, red and dark…so far, Russian!

bob1 bob12

We decided to start off in style with some cocktails and I had an amazing cherry amaretto sour, one of my favourite drinks with a fruity twist. Cat and Steve had the house cocktail of rhubarb gin and tonic which was equally as delicious and set the tone for the evening ahead.

bob2

Having indulged in afternoon tea and cakes at the V&A, we skipped starters and went straight on to our main courses. I had the very indulgent lobster mac ‘n’ cheese which was heavenly. Huge chunks of sweet lobster in a rich, creamy sauce.

bob6

Ian ordered filet mignon with foie gras and truffle gravy, Cat had chicken, mushroom and champagne pie and Steve opted for pork belly. We shared some side dishes and agreed that the food was divine.

bob4 bob7 bob8

I made sure I had room for some pudding and couldn’t resist the trio of crème brulees; rich chocolate, fruity passion fruit and my favourite of earl grey.

bob10

The boys also enjoyed Eton Mess and a sour cherry sorbet which looked and tasted great.

bob9 bob11

Halfway through dinner, we were approached by the manager who told us that this downstairs area was still relatively new so he would like to offer us 25% off our final bill – we weren’t going to say no to that!

There was also some entertainment as we were between courses in the form of two burlesque-style dancers in the middle of the room on the dance floor. This was definitely a bit different but I’m not sure the restaurant really needed it.

Overall, we had a fabulous evening at Bob Bob Ricards. It was elegant, the food was delicious and the cocktails were great too. I was glad of the 25% discount as this place is not cheap but then again we don’t get to spend a lot of time in London so could justify the treat.

bob14 bob15

Right, I’m off for a huge glass of ice cold water to try and cool down in this horrible, sticky heat we are currently experiencing! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

