RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #53 – My French Skincare Haul

I follow a whole host of beauty blogs and the amount of new skincare released can sometimes seem relentless and with so many glowing reviews, it can be hard to pick out what is worth buying and the stuff that bloggers are raving about because it was a freebie!

One group of products that are always gracing the glossy beauty pages and appear on must-have lists are French skincare items. It has made a trip to ‘la pharmacie’ as important as seeing the Eiffel Tower when you visit Paris!

French women are known for looking effortlessly chic and for many it starts with a good skincare routine. It is all about great basics so I decided to overhaul my own beauty routine and take advantage of Escentual’s June offer of 1/3 off all French skincare.

I stuck to some fairly ‘safe’ brands (i.e. those that are continuously referred to as ‘cult products’) but managed to find some amazing items that will hopefully give me flawless skin.

Here is my haul, which arrived beautifully wrapped:

haul1

Probably the most raved about product of the last year is Bioderma’s Sensibio H2O Micellar Water (£6.66). I have used several other brands’ version of this but Bioderma’s is the best and I love using this as a refreshing make-up remover.

haul3

Sticking with Bioderma, I also bought the Atoderm PP Foaming Gel (£4.50). I love using a foaming face wash in the shower in the morning and this looks good stuff.

haul4

My third Bioderma product is the Sebium Hydra (£6.66). This moisturiser has rave reviews and as it seems quite rich, I plan on trialling it as a night cream.

haul5

Next, a few products from La Roche-Posay, who are experts in solving skin complaints. First up the Effaclar Duo + (£10.33), a hero product for blemish treatment. I am fortunate in that I don’t really suffer from spots very often but it’s good to know that when the odd one appears, I have this product to help repair the skin. I have also seen this used as a make-up base so I will give that a go too!

haul6 haul7

I also ordered a face scrub by the same brand (£6.66). I don’t like using harsh scrubs on my skin but this was described as an ‘ultra-fine scrub’ so it sounds as though it will lightly exfoliate.

haul8

Not strictly skincare but I spotted this BB Cream (£10) and ordered the light shade. I love the fact this contains SPF20 and moisturises and smooths as well as offering some coverage on those days when you don’t want to wear a heavier foundation.

haul9 haul10

Next, two products from Nuxe who I always associate with luxury products. I love anything rose-scented and this Melting Cleansing Gel (£8) was the product I was most looking forward to using! I always use these gel or hot cloth cleansers for removing make-up and can’t wait to try this out.

haul11

Also by Nuxe, I bought the Ree de Miel Lip Moisturising Stick (£3.66). A bit more than I would usually spend on a lip balm, I admit I fully succumbed to blogger hype with this one but it smells amazing and feels incredibly moisturising.

haul13

I decided to try a small bottle of Avene’s Cleanance Cleansing Water (£2.25) as an alternative to Bioderma’s micellar water when travelling. This product has just won the Beauty Insiders’ Choice award too.

haul12

A final note on the two freebies included with my order, a handy Escentual nail file and a sample of a Bioderma Cleansing Cream – a nice touch and a good sized sample too.

haul15

I have never ordered anything from Escentual before (and I have to blame thank my friend Cat for pointing me in their direction!) but they have a wonderful product range so I will definitely keep my eyes peeled for any other good deals. They currently have 1/3 off their French pharmacy range in the month of June so if you fancy trying any of these chic brands then be quick!

I will spend the next few weeks testing out these new bits and bobs and will of course share any winning products!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

