RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Graze, Bath

This Sunday, Ian and I were meeting one of our oldest friends for lunch in Bath and seeing as the sun was cracking the flags, we had to find somewhere we could sit outside! Graze is a lovely bar near the train station in Bath. It is completely open plan with an open kitchen, island bar, brewery and meat-hanging room.

As stunning as the inside is, we headed to the terrace to enjoy the sun (and as we were overlooking the track, a bit of trainspotting!)

I started with a mojito while the others sampled some of the house ales. Our local pub does a mean mojito and I’m afraid Graze’s offering didn’t match up to it so I switched to beer too!

graze4

Now I don’t want to moan as there was absolutely nothing wrong with the menu but I was slightly disappointed when I saw it. It is a classic grill house menu (think various steaks, pork and lamb chops with some additional options of pie, duck and fish) but there was nothing new or different and if I’m being honest I thought it was a little boring. I think it’s because I try not to order something I can make at home and lots of these meals were things I make myself whereas I want something a little different when I eat out…maybe I’m just being too fussy?!

Anyway, the only thing I could find on the menu that would suit al fresco dining (i.e. that didn’t require me to use cutlery!) was their cheeseburger with a side of onion rings and chips. I also couldn’t resist trying the ham hock dauphinoise which was great!

graze2

Despite being a bit of a safe option, the burger was really good; hearty, generous and covered in melted cheddar. The chips and onion rings were lovely and overall it was a really tasty meal. My friend ordered the pie and also said it was top notch.

graze3

I loved this bar and can see us popping back in for drinks over the next few months but the menu just wasn’t exciting enough for me to rush back. The food we had was great but was just a bit safe for me…case in point, as we were leaving I spotted a new restaurant nearby that is opening this weekend, Grillstock. I perused their menu of ribs, beef brisket and mac n cheese and mentally started deciding what I would order and what I could persuade Ian to order so that I could try that dish too…that to me is a good menu!!!

Finally, on our way home we passed the Bertinet Bakery and I bought the most amazing chocolate and almond croissant I have ever had. I don’t make these dramatic statements often but I have honestly never had such a delicious croissant (and I’ve had my fair share! hehe) and all I can say is that it is a good job I don’t work in Bath anymore or these pastries would be a daily occurrence!

graze5

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

