RSS Feed

Recipe – Ham, Leek, Asparagus and Mushroom Pie

Yesterday was glorious! I was in the garden after work last night (helping my neighbour try and catch his rabbit, Reggie, who keeps making a run for it!) and noted how beautiful my rose bushes are looking. They were all here when we moved in but I have made an effort to keep them pruned and well-watered and my efforts are paying off…

pie19 pie20 pie21 pie22 pie23

They also have the most gorgeous scent which fills the room when I pick them.

pie25

When Ian got home from work, we walked up to the pub for a few beers in our favourite spot, overlooking the cows and calves, before heading back home for chicken and tzatziki pittas and the news series of Orange is the New Black – a pretty perfect evening for me!

pie26 pie27 pie29

Today however looks to be wet, grey and miserable! I was saving this recipe up for such an occasion as who doesn’t love pie when the weather outside is rubbish?!

pie17

This recipe came about after we had lots of leftover ham following a roast dinner joint – the below should make enough for four hungry diners. I separated the filling in to two dishes and made two smaller pies

Ingredients

pie1

A glug of olive oil

2 leeks, sliced

A small tray of button mushrooms, halved and quartered

One small bunch of asparagus, quartered

About 3 thick slices of ham, chopped into bite-size pieces

A good pinch of dried thyme (1-2 teaspoons)

A large tub of crème fraîche

3 teaspoons of wholegrain mustard

A sheet of puff pastry (I always buy the ready-made stuff!)

How to make it

o  Begin by preheating your oven to 180°C, Gas Mark 4

o   In a large pan, heat the oil on a medium heat

o   Add the leeks and sauté for 5 minutes or sopie2

o   Then add the mushrooms and asparagus for another few minutespie3

o   Add the ham, season well and sprinkle over the thyme

o   Sauté for another 5 minutes or sopie5

o   Add the mustard and pour in enough crème fraîche so that the contents of the pan are generously coatedpie6

o   Spoon your filling into your pie dish or dishespie7

o   Cover with your puff pastry and score some little holes to release the steam whilst cookingpie10

o   I usually do a little wash with some milk over the pastry using a pastry brush to give it a golden finish

o   Pop your pie(s) into the oven and bake for around 30 minutes until well-risenpie14

I enjoyed mine with some garlic roast potatoes on the side but it is pretty substantial just as it is too! x

pie16

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: 2014 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a Reply

